Topline Trends Tuesday: Ice cream trends

BenJerryIt doesn’t have to be June for my thoughts to turn to ice cream, but it does seem like an appropriate time of year to write about the latest trends in this internationally loved concoction.

1. Charity: Ben & Jerry’s and the Barenaked Ladies continue the tradition of rock and roll-inspired ice cream flavours. And, in the spirit of the times, this flavour has a strong charity link since the band will donate their portion of the proceeds to the ABC Canada Literacy Foundation. In other Ben and Jerry’s news, their UK branch has launched a fair trade line that supports small farmers.

2. Spicy: Where bacon went before, the new trend in ice cream is to add a spicy kick of heat to distract eaters from brain freeze. Even if you can’t handle a spicy ice cream, you can go to NYC and spice up your ice cream experience in another way by visiting the Big Gay Ice Cream Truck.

3. Tangy: Goat milk gelato and goat milk ice cream are certainly gourmet faves right now, as are buttermilk, sour cream and crème fraiche-based ice creams that have bracing finishes.

What’s your favourite ice cream flavour? I have to be honest that I still have frequent cravings for Baskin & Robbins Jamoca Almond Fudge as well as Hagen Daaz Dulce de Leche.

The lovely photo above of Ben & Jerry’s If I had a Million Flavors, was, once again, taken by professional food photographer Tracy Cox.

21 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Ice cream trends

  1. Since I got an ice cream maker I’ve tried flavours I can’t find in the shops like chipotle chocolate, cinnamon or ginger. Hmm. Guess they fall under “spicy”. I like the idea of buttermilk ice cream and have been meaning to try it. The tang appeals to me.

    However, when I go to the cone shop I usually opt for something classic like Pralines & Cream or Gold Medal Ribbon. The current flavours all seem to revolve around ultra-sweet chocolate bars, which gets boring pretty quickly — at least to me.

  2. Barb says:

    I haven’t tried all that many. The butterfat scares me. When I have the chance, I love mocha or coffee flavors.

  3. Honestly, I usually default to raspberry or butterscotch ripple. If I’m in a chocolate mood I grab mint chocolate chip. Put me in an ice cream shop with all the fancy flavours and that’s what I go for. But at home I am much more adventurous. I was all set to make ice cream on the weekend, but then it snowed. I baked a strawberry rhubarb crisp with cardamom instead.

  4. cheryl says:

    I buy mint chocolate chip for home (ab)use, but when I go out I usually opt for something coconutty, and preferably almonds, like a coconut almond fudge. I can’t wait to make homemade ice cream again this summer. Not sure what I’m waiting for…

  5. Jen Melo says:

    I love mint chocolate chip! Too bad it’s been too cold out to really enjoy some cold ice cream.:(

  6. Natashya says:

    I love ice cream, I could eat it every day. The tangy ones sound really good. My fave is strawberry, with lots of big chunks of strawberries.

  7. Diva says:

    My absolute favorite is chocolate peanut butter – preferably from my favorite dairy’s roadside stand in Vermont. Its a rich chocolate base with thick streaks of real peanut butter running through it … heaven!

    • danamccauley says:

      That sounds super rich, Diva. I’m not big on things like marshmallow and peanut butter in my ice cream since the textures are kinda gloamy (sp? – is it even a word?) when they are cold.

  8. Heather says:

    Okay…I feel boring…My fav has always been Vanilla. I love plain ordinary Vanilla it’s wonderful on it’s own, and easy to dress up if I choose. My fav. toppings are pecans and caramel sauce, or Reese Puffs cereal with caramel sauce.

  9. Dana, oddly enough we’re blogging/thinking/tweeting the same topics again! Love Dulce de Leche. Any kind of peanut butter vanilla chocolate concoction. And I’ve come back around on loving a good chocolately chocolate! Definitely dig the buttermilk, creme fraiche, sour cream flavors, too.

  10. danamccauley says:

    Tara – that’s remarkable! I’ll pop by your blog home and taste what’s in the freezer a little later on.

    Now, if only I could be like you in the slim and trim department as well as in the psychic blog post department, I’d be very happy, indeed.

  11. CakeSpy says:

    You’re going to think I am crazy. But I love vanilla best of all. No, really. Lame! I Know!

  12. danamccauley says:

    Cakespy,I’ve been following your work long enough to know that there is likely not one boring thing about you!

  13. danamccauley says:

    Just read an article in Progressive Grocer that addresses the ‘boring’ issue:

    “June 10, 2009

    Mintel has released new findings about the varying ice cream preferences of men and women. According to the Chicago-based market research firm, seven in 10 men prefer plain ice cream flavors, such as chocolate or vanilla, while 74 percent of women look for those varieties featuring chocolate or candy bits.

    Despite this marked split, each gender seems to enjoy the other’s preferred type of ice cream: 66 percent of women say they also seek out plain ice cream, and 63 percent of men eat enhanced flavors as well.

    On the other hand, fruit flavors don’t fare too well for either men or women, with fewer than one in three respondents interested in fruit-flavored ice cream.”

  14. Hi. To start with I would like to say that I truly like your blog, just determined it last week but I have been reading it increasingly since then.

    I look to consent with most of your respective thinkings and opinions and this post is no different. completely

    Thank you for any great webpage and I hope you maintain up the very good work. If you do I will continue to look over it.

    Possess a great evening.

  15. Tuhestatt says:

    Hello All.
    I the first time here.
    Wished to show to you,new Pic

    http://heathergraham-nude.blogspot.com

  16. Maquinaria de Construccion…

    […]Topline Trends Tuesday: Ice cream trends « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

