Smoothie recipe

drinksOccasionally, I finish a project and feel glad that it’s over and done with already. It’s a feeling of relief and “good riddance” similar to the one you get at the end of exams or when you pop a finished tax return into the mailbox after weeks of sorting through receipts and adding machine tape.

But that feeling is rare. Most of the time when we finish a project with one of our clients I’m sad because it means the end of a really enjoyable – and always delicious – creative process. Our work often ends up on grocery store shelves or in magazines and books that I can go out and buy, so I’m consoled that although I might not work with the same great people every day, I can still go and get a fix of the yummy food we created together.

Unfortunately, when we finished creating recipes for Bula Smoothie & Nutrition Bar, this wasn’t the case because, for the time being, there is only one Bula outlet and it’s in Hamilton, a city well over an hour away from where I live and work. (The good news is that tomorrow I’ll be in Hamilton to do a grilling segment on CH Morning Live; I’ll be on at 8:10 am – so I can go to Bula for a smoothie afterward!!)

We spent months developing the formulations for Bula’s healthy and delicious smoothies. During that time I got very used to being able to pull a twist of frozen yogurt out of the loner soft serve machine we had at the TK (seriously – we had one for most of the summer in 2008!) and whiz up some fruit and spices to create a yummy afternoon snack or fresh, healthy breakfast.

In the absence of that wonderful soft serve machine, I’ve had to resort to second-best variations on the original Bula recipes such as the Cantaloupe Cardamom and Chocolate-Mango Chipotle smoothies pictured above.

For today, I’m going to give you the Cantaloupe Cardamom recipe but pop back here tomorrow to hear how you can win the blender you need to make it!

Bula-style Cardamom Cantaloupe Smoothie

1/2 cup (125 mL) apple juice
1 cup (500 mL) chopped cantaloupe
1/2 cup (125 mL) ice cubes
1 tsp (5 mL) lemon juice
1 single serve container vanilla yogurt
pinch ground cardamom

Combine all the ingredients in a blender. Mix on high speed until well combined.

Tip: for even better texture – freeze the cantaloupe chunks in a single layer on a wax paper-lined tray before making this drink.

Photo credit: www.tracycoxphoto.com

12 Responses to Smoothie recipe

  1. Darn! I was hoping for the Chocolate-Mango Chipotle recipe🙂

    Fascinating to hear about your projects, Dana. I’m about 45 minutes from Hamilton and might just have to check out Bula’s when I’m in Steel Town next.

  2. cheryl says:

    Argh, I love cardamom! I love cantaloupe! But I’ll be nowhere near a blender for weeks. Bookmarking…

  3. Barb says:

    I wish….. The combinations sound amazing. What creative imaginations!

  4. Diva says:

    Please tell me the chocolate-mango-chipotle is on deck for tomorrow too! 🙂

    Loved reading this post and having a peek into your work world, Dana. So very cool.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Sounds like I”ll have to post a home version of the chocolate chipotle. I was going to post the Cranberry Thyme smoothie when I announce the winner but by popular request, I’ll use the Chocolate Mango Chipotle.

  6. Diva says:

    Wait, I want the Cranberry Thyme too! I’m sorry, I’m a Diva, I want it all.😉

    Kidding aside, that Cranberry Thyme sounds amazing, Dana.

  7. megan says:

    I gotta go by a blender! Seriously, Chocolate Mango Chipotle? YUM. And cranberry thyme sounds refreshing as well. Now to work on a soft serve machine in the office. Wouldn’t that rock.🙂

  8. danamccauley says:

    Don’t buy a blender before you enter my contest! BTW< I'm going to post the chocolate chipotle and cranberry thyme recipes on Tuesday.

  9. Melanie says:

    Can I ask where you found the straw that’s stuck in that refreshing beverage? I have some like it and have been looking for more!

  10. danamccauley says:

    I think Tracy said it came from Teatro Verde. I’ll ask her to pop in and verify. : )

  11. Tracy Cox says:

    Got the acrylic $traws at Pottery Barn! Drink up Melanie!

Leave a Reply

