Party invitations

Summerparty invitation

So, it’s summer and we’re all a little broke but that doesn’t mean we should give up on having a good time, does it? No siree! Even if you can’t afford to treat your pals to strip loin steaks and a grand cru wine, you can still make them feel special.

I found these fun invitations in the party section at the dollar store. The idea is that you open them up and add a message outlining the party details; next, reseal the bottles and deliver one to each of the people on your guest list. What a great way to get a summer party off to a festive start!

Do you have any cheap and cheerful party planning tips and techniques to share?

4 Responses to Party invitations

  1. Beth says:

    I’ve been feeling the pinch this year,too so I’ve had a couple of pot luck parties. Makes it much easier to have a crowd over when the grocery bill is divided.

  2. I like the invitations you found but save time a money by issuing invitations via email.

    I’ve also taken to using my standard glasses and plates instead of spending a fortune on one-time-use-only styrofoam/plastic/paper. I also go for plain, not fancy, napkins.

    To cut down on wasted food I don’t put out bowls of snack items like chips, pretzels or nuts. This frees up the budget for good food.

    And we tend to do more potlucks over the summer, too, like Beth.

    Guess cheap and cheerful is our summer theme this year.

  3. Vicky says:

    I like to have friends over for “booze and snacks”.
    Its easier in regards to preparation and its easier on the budget.
    I put out a variety of interesting snacks..stuff you cant find in a normal grocery store. People love what I find i.e Food Should Taste Good Chocolate Tortilla Chips.
    I also put out a whole variety of interesting microbreweries.
    No one complains.

    Happy Entertaining.

  4. danamccauley says:

    So Vicky, where’s my invitation? ; )

Leave a Reply

