Recycle leftover ribs

pulled pork

The other day I barbecued way too many side ribs than we could consume in one meal. So, I reinvented the leftover ribs as pulled pork sandwiches. It was simple and delicious:
• I used a fork to shred the meat and take it off the bone.
• I spread the meat in an even layer in a foil container and drizzled over a little extra BBQ sauce (I used this yummy sauce from Manitoba).
• I covered the pan with foil and heated it over low heat on the grill until the meat was very hot.
• All that was left to do was to pile the meat and lots of tangy caraway-accented coleslaw on soft, fluffy Kaiser rolls.

Our tummies were happy and it took me only minutes both to prepare dinner and to clean up afterwards.

Do you have any favourite “cook once, eat twice” summer recipe ideas?

10 Responses to Recycle leftover ribs

  1. Beth says:

    I love pulled pork sandwiches! I never thought of it before, but if you don’t feel like making a pork roast yourself, I guess you could pick up some deli ribs and use your idea to make them into dinner in just a few moments. Smart!

  2. Rosa says:

    That looks really good! I love leftovers…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. This isn’t very exciting but we always have leftover chicken. I usually chop it up and serve it on a mixed green salad.

    Sometimes I put it in quesadillas but salad is my fall back meal.

  4. I’m with Charmain on leftover chicken. But it turns into butter chicken, sesame noodles, chili, pasta salad, chicken salad sandwiches… Then the carcass goes for stock – three meals in one.

  5. cheryl says:

    Just like night I took leftover steak, sliced it thin, and shoved it in a warm corn tortilla with leftover grilled corn and some salsa. Took about 3 seconds!

    Your sandwich is reason enough to double up on the ribs next time.

  6. danamccauley says:

    I love leftovers when they offer new and exciting possibilities like you guys describe. In fact, I don’t think most families would recognize these great ideas as leftovers at all.

  7. Diva says:

    Recycled meals are often my most favorite. Many’s the time I’ve used leftover roast pork in much the same was as you’ve done here for pulled pork sandwiches. Delicious! I also like to recycle leftover chicken or beef as fajitas and, similarly, enjoy turning the balance of any kind of chili into a quesadilla or enchilada. I’m a big believer in the cook once, eat twice philosophy!

  8. Barb says:

    Cooking for one or sometimes two means there will ALWAYS be leftovers! I have lots of ideas ’cause I waste not want not but not sure if any of them are terribly clever….

  9. jalapeno says:

    jalapeno…

    […]Recycle leftover ribs « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

