Shopping as a form of expression

conranOops! I did it again. I’ve fallen in love with another online store. This deep and burning love is to be unrequited for two reasons:
1. I don’t need anything new.
2. I don’t have any extra money sitting around so I can’t even show this site how much I love it by purchasing something. Sigh. This will just have to be an a la distance crush, I suppose.

If I do win the lottery and find myself with money to burn, one of the first things I’m going to do is buy these three fun and fabulous items from Conran’s US Online store to add some fresh personality to my kitchen:

1. Double timer

2. Taxi cab yellow trash can

3. Pepper grinder

Those will be my first purchases. Then, I think I’ll branch out and see what interesting things they have at their Japanese, British and French shops. For instance, I might really, really need this picnic cutlery one day, right? And this light bulb candle is likely to bring me great happiness, too.

9 Responses to Shopping as a form of expression

  1. Barb says:

    I was given a surprise day off last year. Not having planned anything and not sure what to do I spent part of it in a kitchen store. I bought an olive oil spout, two big wine glasses, and a pretty ice cream dish. See how memorable that day was? (My pruchases didn’t total $10.00 between them!)

  2. danamccauley says:

    Good shopping! I love bargains.

  3. Ah, but then question is are you an under the sink garbage can person or the ‘look at my yellow garbage can’ person? I fall squarely under the former category.

    Personally, I’m itching to buy the titanic shapes ice cubes I saw – for gin and titanics.

  4. Having bought a cake server shaped like a high heeled shoe (http://christie-corner.blogspot.com/2008/05/icing-on-cake-server.html) I can hardly criticize your choices, Dana. However, I’m like Cheryl A when it comes to under the sink garbage containers.

    The Titanic ice cubes sound like fun, but I’ve seen ones in shapes not fit for print. Use your imagination.

  5. Diva says:

    I’m loving that double timer too. Such a useful idea!

    I’m also loving, and chuckling at, the Titanic ice cubes. What a hoot!

  6. Morgan says:

    I love all your choices! If my kitchen was set up for a stand alone garbage then I would DEFINITELY use it! Unfortunately the only spot is where my dog’s food dish lives. That and I don’t have the extra money either! LOL! I’ll have to check out these titanic ice cubes!

  7. danamccauley says:

    We have stand alone garbage and then two stainless steel recycle boxes next to it. If I hadn’t spent so much on my current can, I’d totally buy this one with all my extra money (Ha!).

  8. Ming says:

    There is an exciting new product on the convenience tech/ gadget market. The twistaid is a revolutionary way to open twist off bottle caps for a variety of bottles. Never have issues opening a bottle of water again. Open bottles with one hand, with our amazing new gadget. Go to http://www.twistaid.com for more information and to purchase your twistaid bottle opener TODAY! Twisting bottle caps has never been easier than with the TwistAid.

Leave a Reply

