Topline Trends Tuesday: Black garlic

Aged Black Garlic

What? Aged or fermented black garlic was developed as an Asian diet supplement; it’s made using a patented, month-long heat curing process that creates not just a change in flavour but also a high level of antioxidants that are associated with cancer prevention.

Why? Besides its health benefits, black garlic tastes really, really good. I first tried it in Denver when I dipped into my friend Robin Asbell’s vegetarian plate at Rioja. The mellow, savoury yet sweet, deep, satisfying flavour smote me hard (why are you looking at me that way? Smote is a word, okay?).

When? This trend started late last year when chefs began to experiment with this supplement as an ingredient.

Where? I bought the aged black garlic pictured above at McEwan but I haven’t seen it anywhere else in Toronto.

Who? Have you tried this yummy new ingredient at a restaurant or seen it at one of your local stores? If so, tell me what you thought or where you found it.

Post edited to add this link to an article about San Francisco restaurants that are using black garlic.

15 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Black garlic

  1. Rosa says:

    I’ve never seen black garlic here, but I’d give it a try if I came across some…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. I had black garlic in Toronto at Colborne Lane. Chef Claudio Aprile used it in a dish for a private event. I’m not sure it’s no his regular menu.

    It had the texture of licorice, which surprised me. The taste wasn’t anything mind-blowing. Personally, I’m not sure what all the fuss is about. Maybe the dish had too many other things going on for me to appreciate it?

  3. danamccauley says:

    Give it another chance Charmian. The way it was used in Denver was very delicious. The chef there made a sauce with it that was the texture of a rich tomato sauce or a hummus. Very yummy!

  4. Jacqueline says:

    It IS worth a try again, Charmian. I believe the umami is quite high due to the fermentation process. I’ve used in compound butter for chicken, in tomato sauces, in Kalbi (Korean marinated shortribs) really wonderful.

  5. cheryl says:

    You just had to bring up that dinner at Rioja, didn’t you. I still recall calling you from the airport, while I was eating greasy fast food and you all were living the high life eating black garlic.

    Makes me want to smote someone.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl, it’s not our fault that Denver has freakish weather! I promise you: if we go to Denver again, I’ll take you to Rioja for dinner on my tab! I’ll even pretend like I haven’t been there before if you like.

    Jacqueline, I bet it was great on Korean short ribs! Good idea.

  7. cheryl says:

    Ah, it’s okay. Remember, I’d gone to Rioja the night before anyway. I just don’t like to miss a party.

    (You’re so taking me out in Portland, though. As penance.)

  8. Daniel says:

    I’m smitten to see the proper use of the past tense of smite. 🙂

    Dan
    Casual Kitchen

  9. cherie says:

    I’ve never even heard of black garlic, but I’m heading over to McEwan to get some pronto!

  10. Barb says:

    I have only recently heard of it and, of course, never seen or tasted it. I’m intrigued.

  11. CakeSpy says:

    Thanks for introducing me to black garlic–never heard of it til now, but it sounds right up my alley!

  12. robin says:

    Thanks for reminding me-I’ve meant to hunt some down since then. Veg-heads are all garlic monsters!

  13. tsantsan says:

    Never heard of that McEwan place..though I do live in Denver so that’s probably the reason🙂 Anywho, I checked farmers markets non-stop for months looking for the elusive black garlic but couldn’t find it so I finally succumbed and looked online and discovered http://www.mondofood.com. At a minimum this is some awesome stuff!

  14. lindasun says:

    Hello ,everybady.

    I had ate black garlic ,It’s so delicious ,sweet and sour just like as jelly .And I’m ALSO sale black garlic and another black garlic products ,such as black garlic rice ,black garlic paste ,black garlic power and so on .It has high bebifit on our healthy ,You should’t miss it!If you have any queations ,Please no hasitate to tell me ,you can send email or talk to me on MSN:qdsunxinjie@163.com.

Leave a Reply

