Working from home: Ham or cheese?

martinbeans

I used to work at home all the time. I had an office in our basement and a second kitchen down there where Amy, Sabrina and I used to develop recipes and do our consulting work. Working at home had advantages in that it saved commuting time but, as you can see from the photo above, working at home also means contending with your family 24/7.

That’s my husband Martin tormenting me while I try to take a picture of a yellow bean salad that I thought was particularly pretty. Is he more of a ham or just delivering as much cheese as he can? Maybe both?

I can enjoy little interruptions like this one now that most of my professional food activities happen off-site (in fact, I laughed like crazy after he pulled this stunt) but when I worked at home this kind of thing would have driven me crazy!

What about you? Do you work at home or leave the house every day for another destination?

11 Responses to Working from home: Ham or cheese?

  1. Barb says:

    I’m “out the door” by 7:10 back by 5:00 – 5:30. Sometimes I envy those who work at home but, to be honest, I need the outing for my social connections every bit as much as I need it financially.

  2. I work from home and love it. I struggle with mornings and prefer to roll into my day rather than get up with an alarm, so this is perfect for me.

    However, it can be very isolating, so I make sure I schedule in-person meetings out in the real world and work part-time with a couple of non-profits.

    Interesting topic, Dana.

  3. I work at home, but my wife is gone most of the time so the phone and computer are the only disturbances. My day generally starts at 11am after hitting the gym, eating a leisurely breakfast, and reading a couple of morning papers.

  4. cheryl says:

    I love working at home, mostly. But I’ve got to tell you, I have so much work right now, and my kids are in between camp and school. So they’re home, which makes things extremely challenging.

    Plus, my computer is in my bedroom (I know, bad for the feng shui!), so it’s the last thing I see at night and the first thing I see in the morning, and it’s not good for my mental health! Ble*di&tg%yr#tye! See! It makes me insane!

    I’d like a cabin 5 feet from my house. With a little teapot. That would be ideal.

    Touched a nerve here, Dana. Touched a nerve.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl, I seem to be triggering your nerves everyday this week – sorry ’bout that. Hire a nanny and come and fly to Toronto and work at my office for a couple of weeks. It’s quiet and serene here! Glad to hear you have lots of work!

  6. Kathryn says:

    I wish that I could work from home. As my work is primarily on computer, it is feasible, but not allowed by office rules. Sigh. How I wish I could head to my kitchen and make a decent cup of coffee right now.

  7. jacki Armstrong says:

    I wouldn’t mind working from home but then I would have a lot of sick people and medical equipment here. Oh and I am a horrible procrastinator, so not much would get done (poor folks). Safer for the public for me to be working in an ICU instead of living in one. :o)
    Martin looks a tad insane in that pic. Your family does have fun!!!

  8. danamccauley says:

    Jacki, I definitely don’t think you want a whole bunch of sick people lying around your house. Better to leave them a the hospital when you go home.

    Kathryn, let’s start a strike or a protest against your bosses to get you the right to hang out at home where the coffee is good. Or, we could start a collection and buy you a good coffee maker. One or the other.

  9. Kathryn says:

    Thanks, Dana. You have no idea how funny your response was: I work for a union!

  10. kathleen parle says:

    I work from home – now when I have to go to a meeting I can’t believe all the time wasted showering, doing my hair, make up, a nice outfit, and driving…..
    definitely prefer being stinky + my yoga pants…ahhh the joys of naked CEO meetings!🙂

Leave a Reply

