What would you eat for a month straight?

bakedsandwichesBLOGWhat food could I eat three meals a day for a month? This article about Matt McClellan, a Florida pizza restaurant owner, encouraged me to ponder this question.

You see, McClellan is pulling a publicity stunt where he will eat nothing but pizza for a month. His intention is to bring not only attention to his own pizzeria but to prove that he can improve his health by switching to pizza and cutting out his other menu staples: Taco Bell and Burger King.

Criticizing McClellan’s plan would be so easy, but that’s not what this post is about. No, it’s about what food do you like that is flexible enough in its execution to actually be palatable for a month?

While pasta, soup, stir-fry and risotto seem to offer as much flexibility as a pizza, I think I’d opt for sandwiches since they really do have limitless variations.

What about you? Is there a food category that you could enjoy for 90 meals in a row?

11 Responses to What would you eat for a month straight?

  1. There is no food I could enjoy for 90 meals in a row. I need variety in textures, not just taste. Stir fries are likely the closest candidate but I just know I’d be craving a silky smooth soup about 5 days in.

    I know we aren’t to criticize McClellan’s pizza plan, but in today’s Globe they talk about the outrageous amounts of salt in take out pizza. Yikes!

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/health/pizza-pizza-shakes-the-salt-sort-of/article1242509/

  2. danamccauley says:

    Char, I just said I wasn’t going to criticize McClellan. You can go for it!

  3. Oh, Dana. Don’t get me started. If his normal menu includes Taco Bell and Burger King, isn’t criticizing his diet plan a bit like shooting Filet-O-Fish in a barrel?

    Preaching to the choir, right?

  4. cheryl says:

    Um, didn’t Morgan Spurlock already pull this stunt in Super Size Me?

    If I had to eat one food for 30 days? Wow. I like Charmain’s stir-fry idea and your sandwiches. How about I go with stir-fried sandwiches? Bet I could get a load of publicity with that one.

  5. Barb says:

    Tough one for sure. Sandwiches might work for me as well. They can be either crunchy or smooth, raw or toasted…. I like variety, too.

  6. Morgan says:

    I think sandwiches sounds good too! The variety is endless!

  7. Salads, as long as each could be different.

  8. Natashya says:

    I could do pizza.. or pasta..🙂

  9. Y says:

    I’ve had tuna salad for a whole week before, but not longer.

  10. Matt McClellan says:

    Hi,

    This is Matt McClellan and I saw your comments and wanted to respond. Although the publicity was great for my pizza shop it was really to prove that pizza is healthier than all other “fast foods”. We are trained to eat a whole pizza late at night with a 2 liter of soda and go to bed….however, you would not do the same with a salad. All I did was portion control my food intake to 1 slice every 3 hours and worked out 1 hour 5 days a week. (30 less than my previous workout routine) Please review and post your feeling but I truly want to inspire/help people change their lives. Currently, I am working out with a 70 year old type 2 diabetic who is on the pizza diet….his story wil shock you! results to be posted soon.

    Thanks for your time
    Matt

Leave a Reply

