Dill crowns: show them some love

Dillcrownsbest

Dill crowns are like Alec Baldwin before Tina Fey asked him to be on 30 Rock. What I’m trying to say is that everyone acknowledges that dill crowns are great in pickles or in the broth used to cook up crayfish but they don’t get starring roles nearly often enough. I want to be dill crowns’ Tina Fey and you, gentle readers, will determine my success not by giving them an Emmy nomination but by letting me know if you’ll use them sometime soon in one of your recipes.

Compared to younger dill fronds, dill crowns have a stronger flavour that leaves a pleasantly perfumy, lingering aftertaste. Dill crowns are already famous in Scandinavia where they are used in all kinds of concoctions for beef and fish. Personally, I love adding dill crowns to sautéed potatoes and onions for the last few minutes of cooking. They are also sensational stirred into warm, roasted beets. Dill crowns are even lovely when simply torn into bits and tossed into mesclun mix to add texture and flavour to a green salad.

Have I convinced you to give dill crowns a starring role on your table? Hope so!

12 Responses to Dill crowns: show them some love

  1. Sharon Haslam says:

    Dill is one of my absolute favourite flavours–on chips, in dips, with pickles, in hummus, in potato salad, with yoghurt and cucumbers…just love it. I’ve only ever used the crowns (which my mother always called “dill weed”) in homemade pickles. As usual, you’ve given me food for thought and I will be trying the fresh crowns in all the yummy ways you suggested. Thanks!

  2. Andrea says:

    I’m convinced! Love the 30 Rock reference.

  3. cheryl says:

    Dill scares me because my mom seriously over-used it when I was growing up. But you sound so genuinely excited about these crowns I may have to re-think my stance.

  4. Barb says:

    I Love Dill. Like some others I use the feathery fronds and have not given the crowns much thought. (How narrow minded of me!) Your suggestions sound tempting.

  5. Amy Snider says:

    Thanks for the tips – as ignored dill crowns in my herb garden caused a dill infestation this year, I am glad to have something to do with them when I trim them off.

  6. Diva says:

    Given my love for dill, you’ve definitely convinced … the only issue now is finding the crowns. Hopefully one of my farmer’s markets will have them. Would love to try experimenting with them.

  7. danamccauley says:

    With all the pickling about to begin in earnest, I bet you’ll find huge bouquets of dill crowns at the farmer’s market Diva.

    Amy, see, there is a silver lining to ‘weeds’.

  8. Great. This is the first year I haven’t grown dill in my herb garden and NOW you tell me about the crowns. Okay, next year dill’s back in the rotation.

    I adore fresh dill in salads, dressings and with fish. But like Cheryl says, in moderation. I can see it becoming overpowering.

  9. adrian says:

    I also give praise for the 30 Rock ref. So, what’s the Tracey Jordan of herbs?

  10. Beth says:

    I added some dill crowns to packet cooked potatoes and onions when I took them off the grill last night. Delish! Thanks for this idea.

  11. Julian Adiran says:

    Nice website, unwell should bookmark this one.

  12. contract disputes atlanta

Leave a Reply

