Produce panic part one: peach and tomato salad

peachtomatosaladThis salad was the result of a panic attack: I looked at the counter and realized that I had way too many ripe peaches and tomatoes. The solution? Transform them into something fast!

I can’t seem to resist over-buying when I’m in the produce aisle at this time of year – everything looks so fantastic; it’s local; it’s good value and I just want it all! The downside to buying peaches and tomatoes by the basket instead of two or three at a time when you’re a family of three is that you have to eat a lot of produce quickly to avoid the guilt of wasting the best fruit you’ll taste all year long.

Peach and tomato salad

3 peaches
Balsamic vinegar
1 beefsteak or field tomato
4 fresh basil leaves (approx)
Salt and pepper
Extra virgin olive oil
4 handfuls mâché or another tender, small leaf lettuce

Blanch and peel the peaches. Cut them into wedges and toss with enough good quality balsamic vinegar to coat all over. Slice the tomato into wedges and add it to the bowl. Thinly slice the basil leaves and sprinkle over the fruit. Season with salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil. Toss gently.

Taste and add more vinegar, oil, salt or pepper as needed. Toss with the lettuce and serve immediately.

15 Responses to Produce panic part one: peach and tomato salad

  1. Kevin says:

    I tend to overbuy fruit at the market when everything is in season as well. There are just too many things to choose from. Throwing the fruit into a salad like this is one of my favorite ways to use some of the extras up as well.

  2. Rosa says:

    I’m exactly like you. When I’m in the aisles, I tend to buy things in a compulsive way ;-P…

    That salad is very interesting and surely very tasty!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. smartpeopleiknow says:

    That looks yummy!

    With a change in a few ingredients, could you also make a tomato and peach salsa? Either one would be fantastic with BBQ pork!)

  4. danamccauley says:

    Tomato and peach salsa is fantastic – especially as a topper for fish or chicken, too. Basically, you can use a peach anywhere you might use a mango.

  5. cheryl says:

    Pretty salad. Your peach salad and my peach salad should hang out together sometime.

    I have a bunch of once-beautiful squash blossoms in my fridge that I didn’t use fast enough. They now look like wrinkled old crones. I’m keeping them in there to remind me not to buy so much stuff on my next trip to the farmers’ market.

  6. Diva says:

    You’re so right about the temptation to buy everything this time of year, Dana. I do it too, and am guilty of either the rush to use it, or some waste as well.

    Meanwhile, I’m loving all the peachy goodness floating around the blogs this week and happy to have another delicious salad option!

  7. Charmaine Broughton says:

    Dana-Considering you are one of the smartest women I know, I’m excited to say: Great minds think alike (in this case), in the current issue of Chill Magazine out in Beer Stores this week, I created the most beautiful grilled peach and tomato salad, along with other mouthwatering peach recipes using Ontario peaches. Look for it in Beer Stores this week!

    It feels good to think like a smart person🙂

  8. Tina says:

    Hi Dana,

    I so understand with the over buying of fruits. Just when I think I have thought of creative ways to use my fruits you post this. Thank you so much for the creative way on how to use peaches and tomatoes together.

  9. danamccauley says:

    Charmaine – you flatter me terribly. And, I love it! Can’t wait to get my hands on Chill.

  10. […] via Produce panic part one: peach and tomato salad « Dana McCauley’s food blog. […]

  11. Terry says:

    I was skeptical about this peaches and tomato combo, but wow,..this was great. Hubby even liked it and normally he is not a fan of mixing sweet and savoury. It might have helped that the tomato came from the garden (our first nearly pathetic specimen of the year – yay!). Thanks for the recipe – we really enjoyed it.

  12. […] Produce Panic danamccauley.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

