Hot weather comfort food

IMG_3050

At long last, the heat and humidity has come to Toronto. We’ve had an amazingly summery week and I’ve loved every single minute of it. Seriously. You don’t hear me complaining about the heat – I even cycled to work and played tennis. I just love it!

The only downside to the hot weather is having to cook in a steamy kitchen. No fun. So, I took my dinner prep outdoors.

Pictured above is a yummy cauliflower curry that we sopped up with grilled naan bread. Once the curry was done I threw in some extra charcoal and grilled a few  lamb chops, too. It was a fantastic dinner if I do say so myself.

How do you beat the heat?  Do you order in, subsist on salads or what?

Curried Cauliflower over Charcoal:

Combine a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes with two tablespoons of mild, medium or hot curry paste and a tablespoon of minced ginger. Add a little extra cumin if you like. Cut up a small head of cauliflower and stir the florets and a handful of golden raisins into the mixture. (If you don’t live with Martin who is allergic to legumes, add some drained, rinsed chickpeas, too). Cook, stirring often, on the hot barbecue until the juices are thickened and the cauliflower is fork tender. Stir in chopped fresh mint or coriander and season, if necessary, with salt and pepper.

11 Responses to Hot weather comfort food

  1. Beth says:

    You know, when I go camping I use my cook fire like a stove top so why don’t I do it at home? Good thinking!

  2. Barb says:

    Salads, yes. Or a bigger meal that morphs into several leftover meals.

  3. Diva says:

    Much as I love the beach, I’m not a summer person. I don’t react well to the heat/humidity. I literally have to force myself to eat in this weather. Lots of salads, veggies and snacky things like hummus are on the menu for me. I do have air conditioning, so I still cook, but nothing too complicated. If I had a backyard, I would certainly be grilling everything!

    Love the curried cauliflower recipe. I’d be good to go with just that and the naan!

  4. danamccauley says:

    Diva, add the chickpeas and this would be a very satisfying and nutritious meal for me as well. My son Oliver – the growing machine – he needs more!

  5. cheryl says:

    Watermelon! Creamy things — with yogurt, especially. Salads, lots of tacos, and a ton of leftovers! (Oh, and fruit pies. Many fruit pies. And crisps. Crumbles, too.)

  6. danamccauley says:

    Glad you didn’t leave out the crumbles!

  7. I cannot take the steamy hot weather and actually feel sick when it’s too hot. I have secretly been liking this cool summer. It’s late August and I haven’t had one heat rash. Yay!

    My hot weather food is usually smoothies, fruit and salads. And ice cream or sorbets.

    Love the idea of making curry on a grill. You’re a hot-weather genius! My brains melt when the thermometer reaches 30C.

  8. dinnerwithjulie says:

    I stand in my 4 year old’s pool. I’ve been known to sneak a tub of cool water under my desk and sit at the computer with my feet in it! That, and iced coffee – cold-brewed of course! http://dinnerwithjulie.com/2009/07/21/coldbrewed-coffee/

    • danamccauley says:

      I love that image of you Julie! It reminds me of a 40’s or 50’s movie when someone with a cold has their feet in water, a towel wrapped around them and a thermometer in their mouth.

  9. Jen Melo says:

    Sandwiches are my “too hot to turn the oven on” standby.

    Mix tuna with chopped red onions, mayo, a bit of vinegar and hot pepper paste. Add a cold leaf of lettuce, serve on a fresh bun and I’m a happy girl! Add a cold glass of beer and I’m a REALLY happy girl.

    I, too, love the steamiest, stickiest summer days. Bring it on!

    Jen:)

Leave a Reply

