Pucker up!

kissingcooking

Most people don’t realize that cooking is like kissing: doing it a little usually leads to doing it a lot more.

Just the other day I started making a peach and blueberry crisp (yes, another one – quit looking at me like that!) and lo and behold, while it was in the oven I prepped these tomatoes. They went into the oven after the crisp was done so that we could have a yummy, fresh pasta sauce for dinner. After all, if the kitchen is already going to need to be tidied, why not make it worth your while?

Oven Roasted Fresh Pasta Sauce:

  1. Combine some seeded tomatoes and a chiffonade of basil in a bowl. Toss with good quality balsamic vinegar, minced garlic and salt and pepper to taste. Drizzle generously with extra virgin olive oil and spread on a baking sheet.
  2. Roast the tomatoes in a 300°F (150°C) oven for 30 to 40 minutes or until the tomatoes are softened and the pan is getting brown. Deglaze the pan with a few tablespoons of dry sherry and smush up the tomatoes with the edge of a spoon.
  3. Spoon the sauce over hot, lightly oiled pappardelle and garnish with shreds of Parmesan or asiago cheese. Or, do what I did last night and top each bowl with a disc of bocconcini cheese and lots of cracked pepper.

7 Responses to Pucker up!

  1. Barb says:

    Yum. I love your kissing analogy! I hadn’t thought about it like that before.

  2. Beth says:

    I often go on a cooking spree on Sunday afternoons (especially in the winter) and make a few meals that I can reheat during the week. You’re right. If you’re making a mess, why not make it worth your while to do the clean up?

  3. cheryl says:

    I’m roasting tomatoes today, too! I have multiple neighbors sharing their bounty with me this summer and the volume of tomatoes is starting to stress me out. #1 item on today’s to-do list: Roast tomatoes!

    I think I’ll freeze them after. Have you tried this?

  4. Great kissing analogy! Although it does make me wonder about people who hate to cook…

    I can’t wait to try this after my next trip to the Farmers’ Market!!

  5. Natashya says:

    Sounds delish, I love garden tomatoes and pasta.

  6. cheryl says:

    Hey, good tip! Just took them out of the oven. Cooling. Will slip skins off soon, then freeze. Imagine how nice it will be to have sweet roasted summer tomatoes in the middle of winter…

Leave a Reply

