Grilled honey-spiced eggplant

IMG_3039

When Monica Bhide’s book Modern Spice came out earlier this year bloggers and food editors went ga-ga. Despite how appealing every recipe looked, it was this one for eggplant that I just couldn’t quit thinking about.

So, when I found myself alone in the kitchen with an eggplant, I gave it a try. But, instead of using Bhide’s skillet method, I cooked my eggplant on the grill and glazed it with her pomegranate, honey and ginger sauce as it was becoming soft and pillowy.  The result:  one full lady alone in the kitchen without an eggplant. Seriously. It was my entire meal.

Since it’s eggplant season, tell me about your favourite way to enjoy this wonderful vegetable?

13 Responses to Grilled honey-spiced eggplant

  1. Monica says:

    Love it!!

  2. Beth says:

    Mmm! Eggplant is so good grilled and used to make a balsamic and EVOO salad.

    I also love it in a parmigianna (Sp?) casserole like the one in Fine Cooking this month.

  3. danamccauley says:

    Ezra pound cake made that recipe, Beth: http://www.ezrapoundcake.com/archives/4066 and I clipped it – obviously it’s a winner!

  4. Barb says:

    It looks delicious! I am in an eggplant rut too I guess. (Love ratatouille) Can’t wait to try this one.

  5. I have this book but haven’t tried this recipe. Love the fast, simple but tasty recipes.

  6. cheryl says:

    Best eggplant recipe ever. Thanks for the link, though Monica obviously deserves all the credit.

    I love, too, that you plugged Alone In the Kitchen With An Eggplant — have you read Jenni’s book? It’s wonderful.

  7. Sharon Haslam says:

    ANOTHER thing on my list to look into courtesy of Dana’s blog!! Thank you!! I love eggplant and never thought of an actual cookbook on my favourite veg! I don’t really have a favourite way of cooking this–I love it prepared any which way! Whether it’s my mom’s melanzani or my mother-in-laws Lebanese aubergine–love it all!

  8. It seems that one lady alone in a kitchen with an eggplant can do a great deal. Lovely idea. I just picked up a bag of eggplants from my CSA and was hoping to try something new. Now I know what. Thank you.

  9. Carolyn Barnett says:

    We like to take our eggplants and slice them up and roll them in flour,salt,pepper and fry them.They are so yummy.

  10. Oh man! It happens to be lunch time and I’m staring at this delicious-looking meal!

    You made me hungry. Thanks a lot!

  11. fantastic advice and sharing,I will buy one this nice jeans for me .thanks

Leave a Reply

