Cardamom-ginger beets

cardamom ginger beets

A few weeks ago I was looking for a new way to enjoy all the fantastic beets at the market and I came up with this yummy warm salad:

1 tsp (5 mL) curry paste
1 tbsp (15 mL) each minced fresh ginger
 and cider vinegar
1/2 tsp (2 mL) each honey and minced fresh garlic
1/8 tsp (1 mL) ground cardamom
3 tbsp (45 mL) canola or extra virgin olive oil
Salt and Pepper
6 cups (1.5 L) warm or room temperature cooked beets
1 baby English cucumber, thinly sliced
1 green onion, thinly sliced

Blend the curry paste, honey, ginger and vinegar together until smooth. Stir in the garlic and while whisking, drizzle in the oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Add the beets, cucumber and green onions. Toss to combine.

How do you like to prepare beets? Are you big on borscht or pleased by pickles?

10 Responses to Cardamom-ginger beets

  1. Dana,
    These look and sounds fantastic! I’m looking forward to giving them a try and I’ll let you know the results.
    Thanks for letting me know about your creation.
    Elaine

  2. Rosa says:

    A delightful flavor combo! I love beets. They are so versatile and delicious.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Diva says:

    I love beets any way they’re served. Typically, I roast mine, but will eat them in any form. This is a really nice twist on the usual salad, Dana. Love the inclusion of the curry paste and cardamom. Yum!

  4. Hmm, nice combo. I roasted some this morning (a, to get it done and b, to take the chill off the house). I plan on a simple salad with greens and goat cheese. Then again, there is feta, mint and lemon in the house…

  5. Hélène says:

    That’s a great recipe. I usually roast my beets in the oven and eat them with salt. Love them that way.

  6. Marusya says:

    That salad looks fantastic. I tend to buy beets and leave them languishing in my fridge. But yesterday I peeled, sliced and grilled my organic beets on the BBQ, then placed them on a bed of arugula, sprinkled the lot with crumbled feta and tossed with an apple cider vinegar/olive oil/tarragon dressing.

  7. Amy Snider says:

    I got to sample this salad for lunch at the TK and it was fabulous…..!

  8. Jamie says:

    Beet greens are my favourite green vegetable. I steam them like spinach.

  9. danamccauley says:

    Me, too. I also usually dice the stems up with my onions and garlic, saute that stuff and then add the greens to the pan before I cover it and remove it from the heat. Then, I toss the steamed greens and the stem mixture before I eat it. Yum!

Leave a Reply

