Mmm! Potatoes

cookstownpotatoes

Photo credit: James Tse

Last night I made a dinner that I was really proud to serve. My son liked it, too. In fact, we were just tucking in, enjoying our beet salads and talking about how great the beets have been this year when in walked Kayne West. He swept the salad bowl off the table and as it crashed to the floor in a million pieces he declared that while the beets had been good this year, the potatoes were the very best they’ve ever been! He said we could finish the beets that were on our plates but we just didn’t have the heart to continue. Truthfully, the moment was gone.

Now of course, this didn’t happen, but I do feel like I’ve been swooning over the very deserving beet crop an awful lot lately. Maybe it’s time that I shine the spot light on another root vegetable? So, without further ado, here goes….

Did you notice how great the potatoes are? Although we didn’t have the great summer weather that makes vacationing in Ontario a treat, somehow the potato crops have been fantastic this year! The corn has been great, too. In fact, I combined these two starchy veggies in a potato salad for a party weekend before last and it was a tremendous hit!

How do you like to prepare farm fresh new potatoes? Do you leave the skins on or peel ‘em first? And, almost more importantly, how do you think Kayne would like his potatoes prepared?

14 Responses to Mmm! Potatoes

  1. Barb says:

    You’re right about the potatoes this year, for sure. I like to leave the skins on, definitely. Other than that, they are delicious prepared in anyway. Boiled, sliced and baked in tin foil on the bbq with onion and carrot, I had some in your cauliflower curry recipe from a while back, salads of course…..

  2. Barb says:

    BTW if Kayne is the fellow I think he is he’s probably clueless about potatoes and many other things as well.

  3. I’ll tell you how I’d like to prepare Kanye’s potatoes…

  4. Beth says:

    Ha! Too funny. You really have to wonder what he was thinking when he stole Taylor Swift’s thunder on SUnday. Did he really think Beyonce needed his support? It’s not like she struggling for fame and recognition!

    On the potato topic, I have to say that I love potatoes but don’t make them very often. I’ve sort of fell out of the habit and make pasta and rice a lot. I’m going to get some potatoes this weekend and remedy that though. Thanks for the prompt.

  5. I am old. Who is Kayne West? And if he’s going to eat my share of potatoes, I don’t want to know!

    I adore new potatoes and love them boiled, lightly tossed in butter and sprinkled with herbs.

  6. I’m going to pretend that Charmain didn’t just ask who Kanye West was. Charmian!!!

    I like that photo because it looks like the farmer has an eNORmous hand and the potatoes are his fingers.

    I don’t eat a lot of potatoes, but I do love fingerlings. I recently learned to appreciate little potatoes par-boiled, oiled up, and then slapped on the grill to crisp up the skin,

  7. Diva says:

    I’m guessing Kanye would like his potatoes with a side of “Single Ladies”.

    I had some great fingerlings from my bro’s garden this year. I roasted them, skins on, with olive oil, salt, pepper and rosemary, then finished them off with a little bit of lemon juice right before taking them out of the oven. Lovely!

  8. Sharon Haslam says:

    Again, Dana, you’ve picked a topic near and dear to my stomach! I prepare and eat potatoes a thousand ways but nothing beats a sweet tiny new potato fresh out of the ground. Blue, red, white, yellow or purple you’ll always find them in my pantry ready and waiting. I try not to peel them and steaming is usually my favourite (then turn them into mashed, gnocchi, fried, perogy, hot german potato salad, hash). I think Kanye is skipping potatoes and eating alot of humble pie!

  9. Thanks to Google, I just learned who Kanye West is. Sorry Dana, but I don’t share your enthusiasm for this guy. I’ll fight you over new potatoes, but you can have Kanye all to yourself.

    Dibs on Jon Stewart!!

  10. Clearly I shouldn’t be allowed near a computer. I found Kanye’s music when I posted the comment above. My husband had to tell me about the awards ceremony incident. Now this post makes sense and I look totally insane.

    Crawling back under my rock …

  11. danamccauley says:

    You don’t look insane at all. Just refreshingly unspoiled by popculture.

    With a preteen in my house, I got to watch the VMA’s and see this crazy jerk’s antics first hand. Not sure it if that’s a benefit or a liability of parenthood. : )

  12. Wow! What a dinner! Hmmm..I love potatoes and corns too. Especially when their fresh from your own garden.

Leave a Reply

