Topline Trend Tuesday: Anti-inflammatory diets

anti-inflammatory-food-pyramid(click image for full size)

It seems like there’s always a new diet promising to change your life by making you slimmer and sexier. Most of them don’t work (trust me – I’ve tried them all!) and many of them make you feel pretty awful besides (remember the dreaded Slim Cleanse experience I wrote about?).

But the latest diet trend to get media attention has a new goal in mind: calming the immune system. Anti-inflammatory diets promote the inclusion of brightly coloured, high antioxidant foods (such as carrots, cherries and pomegranates), spices (such as turmeric and ginger) and fish oils to help reduce the amount of inflammation in our bodies. Theorized to alleviate symptoms of psoriasis and acne and to reduce the incidence of Alzheimer’s, heart disease and cancer, anti-inflammatory diets sound like they could help a lot of people.

How does it work? Studies show that chronic inflammation in the body can throw the immune system off balance and cause it to spend time repelling pathogens instead of maintaining healthy tissues.

Looking for more info on this trend? Both Dr. Sears and Dr. Weil are on the bandwagon and have info to share.

Have you heard of this diet or tried it? If so, tell me what you think.

14 Responses to Topline Trend Tuesday: Anti-inflammatory diets

  1. Barb says:

    I haven’t heard of it. (I always look to you for new ideas!) But it doesn’t look like it will harm you at all; if fact, it might even do a person some good don’t you think?

  2. Pauline says:

    I have followed this type of eating lifestyle ( prefer not to call it a diet) for many years, since I became very ill with mono for the second time. It changed my life. What I thought was the beginning of arthritis or tendonitis disappeared but will reappear when I don’t stick to it. I lost 20lbs and feel fitter, more energetic.
    Perhaps there are other factors at play but for me the only thing I changed was my diet and I don’t believe in coincidences.

    • Pauline says:

      I also meant to add that I limit my caffeine, soy and wheat intake. Does make it hard to eat out sometimes and as a foody I love to eat but it only adds to the fun and my creativity in cooking and sourcing new items/places to eat.
      I agree with Barb, how can whole food cooking with vegetables and fruits harm you?

  3. Jamie says:

    the only thing i would ask if everyone ate like that would be ‘do we have enough fish?’ aren’t we overfishing as it is?

  4. Amy Snider says:

    Antioxidants not only help to reduce disease by reducing inflammation but they help to slow the aging process so the focus on fresh vegetables would be healthy in anyone’s book. Looking back at my school days, we were taught that the proper balance of the major nutrients of: 55 to 65 % carbohydrates, 20 to 25 fat, leaving 15 to 20 for protein. I would seem that this plan jives with that idea but the the focus is on what foods makes up each category. Recent studies would point to the need to consider more seafood and healthy essential fats in the diet.

  5. Shaslam says:

    Antioxidents are my 13 year old son’s focus right now cause he heard it prevents cancer. I buy the bright purple juices and bright coloured food. I really think my grocery store decisions and read labels carefully for nutrition information. I think I buy less junk every month as we are all choosing healthier options. My two teenage sons don’t have a single spot of acne if they do get sick they get over colds very quickly. The whole anti-inflammatory focus is very interesting and I’ll try to incorporate more of that food in our shopping–good to know.
    Any diet that has “no more than 1-2 glasses of red wine a day” is great by me!!
    Can I save it all up for the weekend??

  6. Cheryl says:

    I tend to resist names like “anti-inflammation diet,” though I have heard of these principles for quite some time now.

    I’m also of the opinion that we should eat a wide variety of nutritious foods, whether they’re specifically high in protein or antioxidants or whatever. If you focus too much on the nutrients to the exclusion of the variety/balance, you’ll leave yourself open to manipulation by marketers of supplements and fortified foods of questionable value. (And by “you” I mean “one,” not you, Dana.)

    The inclusion of cooked Asian mushrooms is interesting. I’d like to learn more about that.

  7. Marusya says:

    I try to follow the tenets of this diet because I have osteoarthritis. I think that it helps in tandem with the right supplements (I’m becoming a fan of glucosamine sulfate)and exercise. I’m not sure what pasta is doing on the list, and yes never heard of Asian mushrooms as anti-inflammatory but they are definitely immune boosters. Cherries (and cherry juice) are also hugely anti-inflammatory…

  8. danamccauley says:

    So glad to hear that this regime has helped you Marusya!

  9. JacksonFive says:

    Many research showed that acai fruit pulp has a very large antioxidant capacity
    with even more antioxidant content than cranberry, raspberry, blackberry, strawberry, or blueberry. Acai Force Max

  10. Leonie says:

    I am wondering about anti inflammation diets being helpful for people with asthma it seems to me that asthma is an inflammation on the bronchial tubes is this sort of inflammation the same thought-out the body?

  11. anti aging therapy…

    To start of with, stretch marks are an occurrence that tends to affect both men and women alike. There are lotions that are specially created to get rid of the stretch marks on the body; these lotions function by moisturizing the skin thereby helping t…

  12. Elvis Morr says:

    There is a lot of research currently being done in the field of natural anti-inflammatory foods and whether or not they really affect a person’s overall quality of living. From the results being shown, it seems as though eating anti-inflammatory herbs and foods is a pretty decent way of increasing a person’s overall health and wellness over a long period of time. In the modern world of medicine and medical technology, people are starting to live longer and longer.`

    Up to date posting on our own web-site
    <,http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/l-lysine-for-cats/

Leave a Reply

