A new kind of aromatherapy

090209det_cst_feed_20090902_21_25_36_31692#h=282&w=400

As I mentioned on Monday, I’ve been counting my calories the last couple of weeks so when I read about vaportinis, the inhaled cocktails that have no calories but all the booze buzz, I was more than intrigued!

The idea was born in Helsinki where vodka is poured over hot coals and revelers inhale the vapors, but modified for indoor use by Red Kiva lounge in Chicago. They’ve created inhaled cocktails that sound like they’re equal parts vaporizer and bong. The picture above shows the vessel Red Kiva uses to serve their inhaled cocktails. It works like this: inside the bowl, alcohol is heated to 110°F until it starts to vaporize. Then, you breathe in the vapors through that little glass straw. It all sounds ultra weird but the idea of a calorie-neutral cocktail almost compels me to hop a plane to Chicago for the long weekend.

How about you? Intrigued or turned off?

13 Responses to A new kind of aromatherapy

  1. Barb says:

    Huh? If getting drunk is the main incentive I guess it’s worth a try. (Any hangover issues with this type of ingestion?) Regular high balls mixed with water or soda don’t contain that many calories and you get to enjoy the taste. If one or two is all you want. This idea totally hit me from behind. Not sure why anyone would bother. To avoid alcohol poisoning maybe?

  2. Suresh says:

    An alcoholic version of a shisha/hookah, that’ll be popular, for a bit.

  3. Jamie says:

    I figure if you are having a drink, you need to eat less, so the calories stay the same. I don’t think the vapour way is for me – I enjoy having something to hold. …I’ll try anything once though.

  4. We did this with ouzo when we were young and stupid, because we couldn’t afford drugs. It doesn’t make you drunk, but it makes you feel high (especially if you do a lot).
    No matter how fat my ass gets I’ll be sticking to my scotch and red wine.

  5. That’s intrigued me. Don’t think I’d like it though.

  6. Cheryl says:

    I don’t even know what to say about this. Can’t the people who invent this stuff use their creative genius for something useful?

  7. Tina says:

    Certainly looks modern, and unique. However, if i’m going to drink any sort of alcoholic beverage, it’s usually because I enjoy the experience of flavour. Sounds like a quick way to get intoxicated…which is just not my thing. So, I’ll stick with wine. Moderation is key in keeping those calories down!

  8. Shaslam says:

    Definitely not intrigued! A dirty vodka (preferably Grey Goose) martini with three olives is so sacred to me–on the rare occasions that I have one–I caress the long stem of the glass, savour the salty, cold, crunchiness of the olives and really linger over my experience with favourite martini–did I mention I enjoy them??!!
    Sniffing it up just ain’t the same–calories or not!

  9. Like a few of the other commenters, I would miss the enjoyment of the drink itself. I drink for the physical pleasure, not the buzz. Plus, I know how to pace my wine consumption. I’m not sure how my body would react to this.

    Interesting item, Dana. I’d hop a plane to Chicago, too, but for the blues🙂

  10. danamccauley says:

    So, it sounds like verdict is ‘nay’ for the vaportini’s….it will be interesting to see what happens with this fad!

  11. Diva says:

    I’m fascinated by both the concept and the variety of responses here. Personally, I think it sounds a little scary … but no one will be surprised if I say, hell yeah, I’d try it. Right? Right!

    Meet you in Chicago next Tuesday, Dana?!😉

  12. gnarls says:

    That can’t be that good for you. you’d probably get similar effect inhaling rubbing alcohol, much cheaper too!

Leave a Reply

