My torrid affair with Swiss chard

swiss chard blog

It’s quite possible that 2009 has been the year of Swiss chard at our house. We didn’t have a big build up to it or anything and we didn’t even know it was happening until the summer was almost over; but, now that we’re in full-on autumn mode and the Swiss chard continues to flow from fridge to frying pan on a regular basis, there is just no denying that this veggie has become a family favourite!

I’ve prepared Swiss chard dozens of ways this year, but one of my fav recipes is to saute thickly sliced Swiss chard leaves with lemon and mixed olives – so yummy! I love this dish as part of a vegetarian plate and  it’s also great served under grilled Italian sausages.

Olive & Swiss Chard Toss

1 tbsp                            vegetable oil

¼ cup                          chopped onion (preferably red)

¼ tsp                          hot pepper flakes

1 small bunch          Swiss chard leaves, cut into wide strips

1/8 tsp                        finely grated lemon zest

3 tbsp                          assorted small olives or chopped larger olives

Water

Salt and pepper

Lemon juice

  • Heat the oil in a non-stick skillet set over medium -high heat; add the onions and hot pepper flakes and saute for 5 minutes or until the onion is softened and becoming golden at the edges.
  • Add the Swiss chard leaves and stir fry until the leaves are becoming wilted. Stir in the lemon zest and olives. Add a little water to the pan if necessary to prevent scorching.
  • Remove from the heat and season to taste with salt, pepper and lemon juice.

Do you find that you fall into passionate  love affairs with certain veggies? I do; last year it was broccolini while this year it’s all about fennel and Swiss chard. Good thing I’m more steadfast in my married life!

11 Responses to My torrid affair with Swiss chard

  1. Rosa says:

    That is an original way of preparing Swiss chard! Lovely!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Another tasty sounding way to eat my greens. I have bought the Brussels sprouts and will have to give this a go at the same time.

    I go through phases. Broccoli, cauliflower, green beans and sweet potatoes are perennial favourites, but I find I fall in love with a certain recipe more than the vegetable itself.

    Good to know Martin has nothing to fear from the veggie patch!

  3. Looks lovely Dana. Just perfect with grilled salmon I think.

  4. Cheryl says:

    I like chard very much in soups. It just brightens everything right up.

    Let’s see: I have 2 pumpkins and a butternut squash on my counter, so I’m going to say I’m about to embark on my own affair with gourds. Naughty!

  5. We had so much chard from our CSA this summer! I blanched and froze a lot for soups and dinners this winter. But this is truly by favourite way to enjoy chard:
    http://backseatgourmet.blogspot.com/2009/09/things-i-have-learned-as-csa-virgin.html

    Sorry, but I’ll be skipping your version because we aren’t big olive eaters in the house.

  6. Shaslam says:

    I just bought a beautiful bunch of swiss chard from the grocery store not 4 hours ago. It’s young and tender and not overgrown–can’t wait to cook it up. I usually saute it with onions, garlic, red kidney beans and diced pancetta. I think I’m going to go the olive route instead–that bowl looks yummy.
    I’ve been having a pretty serious relationship with eggplant….purple, white, long, short, skinny, fat you name it–it comes home with me. One of my 4 kids loves it too–3 to go.

  7. magnificent points altogether, you just won a new reader. What may you suggest about your post that you simply made some days in the past? Any positive?

Leave a Reply

