Topline Trends Tuesday: Crystals, cow horns and moon beams – biodynamics defined

Even if they can’t recite technical definitions of words such as organic and all-natural, most people have a strong sense of what these terms mean. However, when it comes to biodynamics, I doubt there are very many Canadians who can confidently spout a definition.

Yet, some people believe that biodynamics is the next big thing. So, to help all of us (until I started researching this post, biodynamics confused me, too) here are the essential things you need to know about biodynamics. Seariously, keep reading and you’ll easily carry on a cocktail party conversation about biodyamics! (Your grateful hosts are welcome to send me thank you cards if they like. Email me for my address.)

Biodynamics:
1. is a specific method of organic farming.
2. strives to be a unified approach to agriculture that relates the ecology of the earth to the movement of the cosmos.
3. looks upon the soil and the farm as living organisms that are holistically linked and interdependent.
4. regards the maintenance and feeding of soil life as a basic necessity that will preserve soil quality for generations.
5. uses an astronomical sowing and planting calendar.

Still having trouble envisioning how biodynamics can impact your life? Check out these real-life biodynamic food and beverage products:
Southbrook Farm’s Biodynamic Wine
Zhena’s Biodynamic Tea
Australian William’s River Beef and lamb

Want to take your level of biodynamic knowledge to the moon? Check out the Demeter website or watch the video posted above.

Have you ever bought a biodynamic product? If not, will you now that you know more about this farming system? Or, is this just some crazy idea whipped up by pot-smoke addled hippies?

10 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Crystals, cow horns and moon beams – biodynamics defined

  1. I had no idea Southbrook made biodynamic wine. Perhaps I have had biodynamic food after all.

    Biodynamics also extends into beauty products. Some skin care and hair care lines claim to be made with biodynamic ingredients. Apparently my face cream is biodynamic (I bought it because it’s paraben-free, not because it’s biodynamic). Is it better than plain organic or chemical-laced? Too soon to tell.

  2. danamccauley says:

    It’s interesting stuff, isn’t it? Somehow, I feel like adding another layer to the organic proposition at this stage might be overwhelming for most consumers.

  3. Cheryl says:

    I first heard about these principles when visiting an Ohio farm several years ago. The farmer told me biodynamics involves farming according to the cycles of the moon, and I really thought he was crazy. But now that I’ve been reading more about it, it doesn’t sound quite so out there anymore. (Or maybe I’ve just been living in California too long.)

  4. Jamie says:

    I worked on a biodynamic far a few years ago, when I was travelling around as a WWOOFer and it was very different. There were crustals buried in the garden at specific places to helpt channel the energy between soil and vegetable roots (I think. They also left the horns on all the animals because they use the horns to transmit energy to each other and to communicate – a kind of bovine body language. Anyway, the food was great.

  5. Jamie says:

    I didn’t proofread, sorry.

  6. Jennifer says:

    I greatly appreciate your summary and links. I’ve been intrigued by biodynamics, wines in particular, since reading the chapter about this matter in Natalie MacLean’s book, “Red, White and Drunk All Over.” They are not the easiest products to track down though, and I hope that changes.

  7. In northern Umbria, biodynamics has been a part of the farming routine, probably since pre-Etruscan times. It’s not uncommon to find old farmers out tilling in the light of the new moon. “Everyone” knows you only plant seeds in a waxing moon. We were nearly thrown out of a dinner party and told to start planting our lettuces IMMEDIATELY because it was the last possible moment that we could plant. Fortunately, we had lettuce plants so we were allowed to remain and eat our dinner. Last night’s discussion was why my limoncello was creamy/cloudy, and there was concern the lemons had been picked at the wrong time of the moon cycle. I say it was the variety of lemon, but who knows?
    Vintners around here all go by moon cycles as that appears to tremendously influence fermentation.
    And, just for the record: only have your hair cut during the new moon. It will grow back much healthier, and the woman who told me this has the most gorgeous hair imaginable.
    All kidding aside, I do believe this has to do with a strong connection to traditions, ritual and an incredible bond with the life force.

  8. all the time i used to read smaller articles or reviews which also clear their motive, and that
    is also happening with this paragraph which
    I am reading now.

  9. Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What a great website.

Leave a Reply

