Where Dana shops

Jane R - Cake Slicing 2

When the new book All the Best Recipes by Jane Rodmell came out earlier this fall, I was thrilled! Long before I met Jane Rodmell or Sue Bowman (the dynamic perfectionistas who run All the Best Fine Foods) and became their friends, I was a devoted customer.

In fact, this shop was (and remains) my ‘go to it’ destination for prepared foods that are as good as I’d make myself. From the roasted vegetable lasagna that I’ve had them make in casserole dishes so that I could serve it up like it was homemade, to the buttery, super crisp gingerbread cookies (recipe below) I buy in the store as a special treat for my son, this is a book filled with fantastic recipes.

What I’m really trying to say is: if you buy one cookbook this fall, make it this one! Happy Anniversary All the Best!

The Best Gingerbread

MAKES ABOUT 4 DOZEN COOKIES

•Cookie cutters (gingerbread boys and girls),
about 21⁄2 inches (6 cm)
•Baking sheets

61⁄2 cups all-purpose flour 1.625 L
4 tsp ground cinnamon 20 mL
4 tsp ground ginger 20 mL
1 tsp ground cloves 5 mL
1 tsp baking soda 5 mL
1⁄4 tsp salt 1 mL
2 cups butter, softened 500 mL
2 cups packed dark brown sugar500 mL
1 cup light (fancy) molasses 250 mL
Decorative (Royal) Icing

1. In a bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed or a wooden spoon, cream butter and brown sugar until blended. Add molasses and beat until smooth. On low speed or with a wooden spoon, gradually add flour mixture, mixing until blended. Divide gingerbread dough into 2 disks. Wrap securely in parchment or plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes or for up to 8 hours.

3. On a lightly floured surface, roll dough out to 1⁄8- to 1⁄4-inch (3 mm to 0.5 cm) thickness. Stamp out shapes with floured cookie cutters as desired. Place on baking sheets, about 1 inch (2.5 cm) apart. Bake in preheated oven until firm and lightly browned, 10 to 15 minutes, depending on size of cutouts. Be vigilant, as cookies brown quickly in the last few minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes on baking sheets, then transfer to racks to cool completely. Gingerbread becomes crisp when cool. Decorate with icing when completely cooled.

Do you have a store that you can depend on for top quality food that actually tastes as good as it looks? If so, give them a plug in the comments section. In my experience, these places deserve all the support we can give them.

8 Responses to Where Dana shops

  1. Andrea says:

    Love that store. Wish I’d gone more often when I lived in the neighbourhood but feared the prices.

    That was good cake and a nice little party. I’ve got the book.

    I’m looking forward to reading the plugs.

  2. Diva says:

    Sounds like a wonderful place. Congrats and Happy Anniversary, All the Best!

    That lasagna sounds magnificent and the gingerbread cookies are calling my name. Yum!

  3. Barb says:

    I don’t have a store like that. A lot of people around here go to M&M’s and some of their food is really good but, I don’t know. I just don’t shop there much.

  4. Barb says:

    I like the chewy gingerbread cookies. What makes the recipe different between the two?

  5. danamccauley says:

    Barb, baby, try these chewy gingerbread cookies – I think they’re great!

    https://danamccauley.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/perfectionista-free-baking/

  6. Barb says:

    Thanks Dana!

  7. Jane Rodmell’s All the Best Recipes…

    Jane Rod­mell, who has worked with us at Cot­tage Life from the very first issue, has a new cook­book out this fall. All The Best Recipes is avail­able here on our web­site and at the Cot­tage Life Fall Show this week­end. Jane will be at the show on S…

Leave a Reply

