It’s perfect weather for…

doubl86596

Now that I’ve been blogging for so long (over two years!), it’s becoming harder to post about my favourite fall comfort foods since, at least at this time of year, I like to rediscover my favourite fall dishes. It’s not until later in the autumn that fatigue sets in and I start to experiment.

So, in case you missed them the first time or in case you’re new here, today and tomorrow I’m featuring a glossary of my favourite fall food posts from the last two years.

On the roster today:

Savoury autumn favourites:
Double cheddar mac ‘n’ cheese
Zesty lasagna
Roasted Chicken broth for soup
Lemon parsnip soup
Sausages with onions, apples and Swiss cheese

What savoury recipe epitomizes autumn for you? Feel free to add links to your own posts and favourite sites so that it’s easy for us all to try out your ideas.

14 Responses to It’s perfect weather for…

  1. Rosa says:

    The kind of food I love!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Cheryl says:

    That mac and cheese. Oh, man. I have no more words.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Lasagna and mac and cheese definitely top my favorite foods of fall list. I also start craving thick soups like my Creamy Five Onion & Potato Soup. Here’s the link if you’re curious:
    http://www.palatetopen.com/?p=1677
    🙂

  4. I start craving pyrohy as well as meatloaf, and spaghetti and meatballs.

  5. Diva says:

    Fall typically puts me in mind of pot roast:

    http://beacheats.blogspot.com/2009/10/recipe-for-basic-pot-roast.html

    … though that bowl of mac ‘n cheese is looking so good you’ve got me craving, Dana!

  6. Sharon Haslam says:

    Just last night I made 1 big pot of soup using 2 butternut squash, 3 leeks and 4 potatoes–I used turkey stock from the freezer that I made with the Thanksgiving leftovers. I pureed it–only a dollop of sour cream and some buttery croutons sprinkled with cumin and two bowls later I’m feeling like autumn is here. Split pea soup has the same effect (I have two ham bones saved up in the freezer-can’t wait!), French onion soup and clam chowder, too…I guess cold weather means big steaming pots of soup!

  7. Barb says:

    I’m a real souper, too. Any kind really but when I first started reading this post I was going to mention ratatouille (how the heck do you spell it?)

  8. What a great idea. I love these comfort food links.

    I love soup. Thai Coconut is one of my favourites:
    http://christiescorner.com/2008/12/19/thai-coconut-soup/

    I also love curries:
    http://christiescorner.com/2009/10/26/matar-paneer/

  9. I love the change of seasons! You get to fall in love again all year long. Right now, I’m in love with all things mushroom, porcinis are nearly over, but there’s plenty of other tasty funghi around. A white lasagne with mushrooms and sausage tastes very good right about now. http://aromacucina.typepad.com/aroma_cucina/2009/11/im-dreaming-of-a-whitelasagne.html

    Jennifer, that 5 onion soup sounds excellent! mmmmm….!

Leave a Reply

