I could go for a ginger cookie…

gingersnaps

If you read yesterday, you know that I’m taking the easy way out to end the week by recycling some of my favourite cold weather comfort food posts.

On the list today are recipes from my sweet kitchen:
Microwave butterscotch pudding
Tarte Tatin
Super crisp ginger cookies
Butter Tarts

What sweet treat epitomizes warming comfort for you? Again, feel free to link to your site or recipes that we can all bookmark for a day when we need an indulgence.

8 Responses to I could go for a ginger cookie…

  1. adrian says:

    I could always go for a ginger cookie… I do a variation on cranberry sauce that I spoon on m’granola and yogurt, for breakfast. Make a batch with pear, ginger and maple syrup and even chilled, it warms up winter mornings for me.

    • danamccauley says:

      Sounds yummy! Is it runny like compote or thick and spreadable like jam?

      • adrian says:

        (oops – sorry for the tardy delay). It should be compote-runny, but out of the fridge it’s pretty jammy. Also, depends on how much liquid I start with: I skip a water-and-sugar syrup and just simmer oj, so it honestly depends how juicy the oranges are!

  2. I love ginger cookies, but chewy ones — like this.

    http://christiescorner.com/2006/09/20/double-trouble-ginger-cookies/

    I can also go for something like a crumble and these squares hit the spot:

    http://christiescorner.com/2009/08/27/double-berry-crumble-squares/

    Thanks for the opportunity to post a link! I got greedy and posted two because you can never have enough dessert!

  3. Cheryl says:

    How do you get your cookies so perfectly rectangular? I’m impressed.

    I’m following your pudding theme and providing two chocolate pudding recipes:

    Mini dark chocolate puddings here: http://bit.ly/4k3EIw

    and

    Chocolate coconut puddings with crushed peanut butter maltballs (I know!) here: http://bit.ly/21GbVd

    Thanks, Dana!

  4. Sabrina says:

    I usually go for a cup of warm apple cider or real, homemade hot chocolate on the really cold nights, but I wouldn’t turn down one of your butter tarts to go with my warm beverage ; )

  5. I love butterscotch pudding. When I was young I use to make it stirring diligently by the stove. Then, I’d eat it hot. Yum, comfort food. A sweet need for warmth after a snowy walk home from school in Minnesota. My four kids don’t like it!!! What. Is. Up. With. That? I’ll defiantly try the microwave option!…for myself.🙂 Thanks for sharing your favorites!! -Chris Ann

Leave a Reply

