Quiche me if you dare

quicheIt’s that time of year again. Time to pull out your cocktail party clothes and brush up on current affairs because the holiday season party invitations are going to start rolling in!

Or, maybe you’re thinking of hosting a holiday shindig. If so, chances are mini-quiches are on your list. They’re a party time stand-by but unfortunately, so many of the bought frozen quiches are just awful! Yet, people keep tossing their good money away by buying them. Such a shame when they are so very easy to make ahead, freeze and then heat in the oven when you need them.

All you need to do is whisk together
8 eggs
4 cups (1 litre ) 35% cream

Seriously, that’s it. Then, toss some yummy stuff like cheese, ham, salt, pepper, mustard, green onions and such together and divide them evenly between blind baked tart shells. Fill with the egg mixture and bake at 350ºF (180ºC) until the filling is jiggly and just barely set. Cool to room temp, place in zip top bags and freeze until needed. To serve, bake from frozen on a parchment-lined baking sheet at 350ºF (180ºC) until the crust smells toasty.

12 Responses to Quiche me if you dare

  1. I agree, Dana. Quiches (and hugs :)are wonderful for holiday parties. I often bake two-bite-sized quiches in mini-muffin tins. My favorite holiday filling? Chopped toasted walnuts, dried cranberries and crumbles of Gorgonzola. Yum!

  2. adrian says:

    Great tip, one of my favourite party recipes too. I like salmon @ asparagus, or broccoli @ sun-dried tomato. But can you explain the difference between quiche and classic French bistro tarts? Is there cheese in one and not the other?

  3. Rosa says:

    I love quiches. they are so versatile. Yours look perfect!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Cheryl says:

    I make several gigantic quiches for my annual New Year’s Day Party every year. I like the idea of little individual ones a lot better for the guests, but I think they’d be more work for the chef!

  5. In light of this time-saving tip, an alternative title would be “Quiche Me Quick”🙂

    This is a great idea. I think this would be an ideal treat to have on hand when unexpected holiday guests drop by!

  6. farida says:

    I love quiche! You make them sound so easy to make:)

  7. Jennifer says:

    These quiches are adorable and adaptable – love ’em!

  8. Sharon Haslam says:

    I love the ratio of eggs to cream–can it get any easier–thanks so much!!! Anything in a pie shell just makes it better.

  9. good kitchen tv method for your house…

    […]Quiche me if you dare « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

