Arils. My new food word

pomegranate

One of the things I love best about being in a food-focused profession is that there’s always something new to learn. But new food terms – unless they’re from other cultures – aren’t that plentiful at this point in my career.

And, even if I don’t know a particular term, chances that Amy or Sabrina will know it are very high. So, last week when I encountered the word arils for the first time, I was super surprised when it was new to my two smarty pants colleagues as well.

So, what the heck is an aril? Aril (arilles, en francais) is the name for the juicy, garnet-coloured, flesh-covered seeds inside a pomegranate.

Now, be honest, did you know the word ‘arils’ before reading this post?

11 Responses to Arils. My new food word

  1. I love a new food word…can’t wait to try it out.

    OK: what do you call those big forks that you use to toss a salad?

  2. Lex says:

    Nope, I had no idea.

    I did a bit more digging and found (through wikipedia) it’s also the name of the flesh on a lychee and ackee. Cool. Thanks

  3. I did. Does that make me a know-it-all?

  4. Didn’t know this word. I just called them seeds. Interesting!

  5. Diva says:

    I heard the term for the first time last year on 5 second rule. Such a lovely word, isn’t it?

  6. Ha! I’m so glad two people in the world think I’m clever. I should add that to the post I just put up on my own blog of things that make me happy.

    And I only knew about the world arils because I wrote an article about pomegranates for a magazine a few years ago. Before that my food vocabulary was decidedly average.

  7. Barb says:

    I learned something new again today!

Leave a Reply

