Friday party trick: Pasta in a bag

Last week’s party trick was so much fun, that I think I’ll offer another!

I wish I could take full credit for this idea but truthfully, this picture appeared in Donna Hay magazine originally. When it was featured in her magazine, Donna’s team recommended popping cooked, lightly sauced pasta in a parchment pouch with raw seafood and then heating it gently to cook the shellfish and reheat the pasta.

I love this idea for entertaining since serving pasta to a crowd can be a rather steamy, messy affair that leaves the hostess’s hair either limp or frizzy. So, if you’re a pasta lover but don’t have perfectly bouncing and behaving locks but like to look good form company, this idea is for you!

Do you often serve pasta for company? If so, do you go for baked dishes like lasagna or brave the humidity and cook noodles in a vat of salted water?

15 Responses to Friday party trick: Pasta in a bag

  1. Peter says:

    I featured a dish like this on my blog about a year ago and friends got a kick out of a lunch bag appearing on their plates. Just make sure the paper bag isn’t made of recycled materials. Bon apetit!

  2. I rarely serve pasta to guests and for the reasons you list. Love this idea! Might have to give it a try — and very soon!

  3. Barb says:

    What a great idea! I usually serve a casserole type dish that gets baked so I am not in the kitchen for too long.

  4. Sharon Haslam says:

    I don’t even remember the last time I served pasta to guests (or ever??) When I do it for my family I like to use the pasta water to help the sauce along (especially for seafood pasta)–I would think this paper bag pasta would be a little less saucier than my family likes. My son saw an apple pie baked in a paper bag–the idea is good. Gotta expand my family’s horizons…

  5. I love this idea. I generally reserve parchment cooking for protein, but it makes sense to use it this way, too. Plus, you can wash the pasta pot, colander, etc. all in advance of the party, making post-party cleanup especially streamlined. Genius, Dana!

  6. Charm F. says:

    Great idea!

    Pasta is one of our main dish every weekends.
    Thanks for posting this idea. I’ll try to cook lasagna this weekend. 🙂

  7. mayajo says:

    I just love pasta! never tried this recipe! looking forward to have a good one! thanks

  8. Home And Kitchen Black Friday…

    […]Friday party trick: Pasta in a bag « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  9. really awesome post thanks 4 sharing with us

  10. really awesome post thanks 4 sharing this post

  11. Beyonce says:

    Kick the tires and light the fires, problem offlicaliy solved!

Leave a comment