Cool Yule, volume 2

Struggling with gift ideas for the cooks on your list? Here are two great ideas — one a bit extravagant and one less expensive -– that are sure to make the grade and not likely to be in their cupboards already:

‘I like you!” gift idea: Cupcake pens can be used to decorate all kinds of baked goods whether you’ve got artistic flair or two hands worth of thumbs.

“I love you!” gift idea: Yogurt makers aren’t just for people who wear sandals and socks (They used to be but things have changed now – I checked.) and this one is the Mac daddy of them all offering flexible timing options and the ability to make up to 8 flavours at a time! Seriously, 8 flavours.

If you’re an avid cook, what’s on your wish list this holiday season?

24 Responses to Cool Yule, volume 2

  1. No way! I just got one of those cupcake pens to decorate my sugar cookies. Only my icing was too runny. See…

    http://christiescorner.com/2009/11/27/cookie-cutters-holiday-gift-idea/

    Anyone have an icing recipe that’s thin enough to “write” with but thick enough not to ooze?

  2. Andrea says:

    Vitamix! I passed on a chance to buy one on the weekend (almost $600) but I’m still determined to own one at some point.

    I know we’ve discussed it before.

    I’d also take a yogurt maker.

  3. Diva says:

    No real cooking gadgets on my list this year. Though, no surprise, I’ve got some cocktail accessories on there! 😉

    The frosting “pen” looks interesting, but its not something I would use myself. I prefer a pastry bag as I think it gives more control. Though, for someone who’s not used to a pastry bag, I could see this as a good solution.

    • danamccauley says:

      I think you hit the nail on the head with the cupcake pen. It’s a good replacement for those messy to fold parchment piping cones that so many people (including me) make.

      I love barware, too. We have so many glasses and things that it’s just silly!

  4. adrian says:

    Never thought I’d want a yogurt maker, but with the crazy price of organic yogurt, it makes sense. I’ve seen this one listed at $50 – does that sound about right?

  5. Barb says:

    I would like a mandolin. I have wanted one for a long time but have always decided that “I’ll just slice things myself.”

  6. Hélène says:

    What a great idea. I love it. For this year I did order lot’s of cookbooks, new cookies cutters for Xmas.

  7. We have one of those cupcake pens. Don’t tell my mother-in-law but we’ve never used it. Of course, sugar cookie season is upon us…

  8. Sandy says:

    Cool yule. Please post the recipe of how to make this cake

  9. Daxenrein says:

    really good idea. Cupcake pens can help me decorate my baked pastries and also my kids will be comfortable to use it.

    It’s cool, cool yule! 🙂

  10. FABRIZIO says:

    it sounds good, I’ll try!
    if you like italian traditional cuisine take a look at my blog: http://visitpiedmont.blogspot.com/

  11. Tom Morin says:

    I agreee. This is really great. I agree that Cupcake pens can be used to decorate all kinds of baked goods whether you’ve got artistic flair or two hands worth of thumbs. So it’s really nice to personalized baked goods and give it as a present!

    Keep it up!~

  12. LOOKS GOOD.
    Visit my blog to have a taste of the REAL ITALIAN FOOD:
    http://wholefoodkitchen.wordpress.com/
    Bye Bye

  13. This was a really quality post. In theory I’d like to write like this too

  14. mayajo says:

    just fantastic! looking at it makes me hungry very nice!

  15. linda says:

    love this site

  16. What i don’t realize is if truth be told how you are no longer really much more well-favored than you might be right now. You’re very intelligent. You recognize thus significantly when it comes to this matter, produced me individually consider it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated until it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs great. All the time handle it up!

Leave a comment