My new salad dressing: Spicy Korean

SaladDressingSpicyKorean

I’m such a fickle cow. I’ve replaced my favourite salad dressing yet again. These days it’s all about spice! If you can’t stand the heat, this salad, based on one I had at Sariwon Korean restaurant in Thornhill, Ont., is definitely not for you:

Spicy Korean Dressing
1 tbsp (15 mL)    rice vinegar
11/2 tsp (7 mL)  sambal olek or Asian chili paste
1 tsp (5 mL)        soy sauce
1/2 tsp (2 mL)   granulated sugar
1 clove                 minced garlic
1/2 tsp (2 mL)   salt
1 tsp (5 mL)        toasted sesame oil
3 tbsp (45 mL)   vegetable oil

Whisk vinegar, sambal olek and soy sauce together. Stir in sugar, garlic and salt. Whisking constantly, drizzle in sesame and vegetable oils.

Makes about 1/3 cup (75 mL)

Revisit some of my other favourite salad dressings if you need more inspiration to eat a bowl of veggies:
•    Curry Vinaigrette
•    Creamy Sesame Dressing
•    Miso Dressing
•    Lemony Dill Dressing

Or, leave your favourite dressing ideas in the comments below. I’m sure to need a new favourite dressing very soon!

18 Responses to My new salad dressing: Spicy Korean

  1. Beth says:

    You are the salad dressing Queen! Seriously! I love that curry vinaigrette and I’ve been making your dill and honey one regularly. I put it over a new potato salad last weekend and it was a hit.

    Thanks!

  2. Cheryl A says:

    Hey, I beat you to something! Okay, maybe not really.
    To be honest, I’m partial to plain on oil and vinegar or a simple maple balsamic as a daily dressing.

  3. Rosa says:

    I love Asian-style salad dressing! This one sounds delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Diva says:

    This one is definitely for me. I love sambal olek! And, I’m glad you’re fickle … more new dressings to try. Yay!

  5. Rebecca says:

    Oh, this sounds mouth-watering. I think a simple salad with this dressing is in order.

  6. I’m always looking for spicy dressing my husband would like. I be this would even make a great dip for those meatballs he’s addicted to.

    Love that your fickle in this way.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Thanks ladies! Drop me a note if you try this recipe. I’ll be curious to here what you think of it.

  8. Hélène says:

    Sounds really good. I don’t usually make spicy dressing but that could be good for a change.

  9. cheryl says:

    The next time I see you I swear I’m calling you a fickle cow. In fact, I may start calling other people fickle cows, too, just to gauge their reactions.

  10. danamccauley says:

    Cheryl – go for it! I’ve been called worse – ‘fickle cow’ would be a step up!

  11. […] My new salad dressing: Spicy Korean « Dana McCauley's food blog […]

  12. Caroline says:

    I am all over this… LOVE Korean flavors. Salad dressing is not my forte. I always just do oil and vinegar. Love to know ways to mix it up. Thanks Dana!

  13. danamccauley says:

    Anytime you need salad dressing advice – I’m here!

  14. […] My new salad dressing: Spicy Korean […]

  15. […] said, I’m not a big fan of creamy dressings. In fact, of the many dressings I’ve posted on this blog, I don’t think a single one has been creamy. Likewise, most bought, […]

  16. Candy says:

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been conducting a little
    homework on this. And he actually ordered me lunch simply because
    I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this.

    … Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this matter here
    on your site.

  17. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to offer something again and aid others such as you aided me.

  18. Thanks in support of sharing such a fastidious thinking, article is pleasant, thats why i have read it entirely

Leave a comment