Topline Trends Tuesdays: Bacon in the sweet kitchen

n704514561_1159993_6671

Photocredit 

Although beef suet and lard have a well-established place in the pastry chef’s pantry, using bacon as a dessert ingredient is a relatively new trend. Bacon started out a couple of years ago as a novelty ingredient used by clever folks such as baker David Lebovitz (in ice cream) and Chicago-based chocolate boutique Vosges (in chocolate bars). Now, bacon is emerging as a dessert ingredient much more often.

Looking for a bacon laced dessert near you? Check out this Time Magazine article for a roster of places serving such treats. And for recipes and even more info on the trend, check out Eat.Write.Now and Slashfood. Or, if you just want to sit back and watch a video, check out this link featuring video about bacon cupcakes! (thanks to Cheryl at 5 Second Rule for posting this link earlier this week in her blog).

Would you eat bacon for dessert? I know I would!

19 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesdays: Bacon in the sweet kitchen

  1. Rosa says:

    I would definitely give it a try!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Beth says:

    I can’t imagine that the pie pictured above isn’t super greasy. To be honest, I get the ice cream and other things that have some cooked bacon added as an accent but that pie seems gross.

  3. Andrea says:

    Around 10 years ago I had some bacon cheesecake that a friend made. It was excellent, heavily flavoured with maple syrup. Maple syrup + bacon tastes like breakfast.

    I’m off meat now but remember that bacon cheesecake fondly.

    He followed it up with bacon banana cream pie but it didn’t work as well. It wasn’t covered in bacon like the pie in the photo but rather had pieces inside.

  4. Elra says:

    Eeek! Should I give it a try?

  5. I am an anomaly. While I like smokey flavours, I can’t handle bacon — or any pork product for that matter. For years pig meat gave me such massive indigestion the thought of eating pork in any form turns me off — even when it’s wrapped in dark chocolate.

    Guess that puts me in the “NO” camp.

  6. Cheryl A says:

    I saw some bacon maple doughnuts which I’ve been waiting to make. Just waiting for enough people to be cooking for.
    What about an apple pie with some bacon in it? Served with a nice aged cheddar?

  7. Cheryl says:

    Between the bacon explosion phenomenon last week and my own bacon research, I thought I’d seen it all.

    But with that single photo of a bacon-topped apple pie, you’ve just proved me wrong.

    I can’t do it. I wish I could, but I just can’t.

  8. Hélène says:

    No, I would not eat bacon for dessert. Not my cup of tea. But I have to say that the tart looks good.

  9. So much modern bacon is pumped with sugar of one form or another that is almost tastes as sweet as candy to me.

    In the cupcake video, it seems like the chocolate would overpower the bacon, but I’d still give a try.

    I use bacon in all sorts of dishes, all savory, but I rather eat it for breakfast. The bacon I use is my own creation that I brine and smoke a few times a year.

  10. Martin Kouprie says:

    “HOGITO ERGO SUM”
    -I eat bacon, therefore I am-

  11. Kevin says:

    I tried the Vosges bacon chocolate bar and liked it. I have seen a few recipes for bacon chocolate chip cookies that I have been meaning to try. It just goes to show that bacon makes everything better! 🙂

  12. Jamie says:

    I just saw a show on the Food Network where the contestants are given four surprise ingredients that they need to put together to make one dish. Bacon and Bananas were two of those ingredients. Although I would have never thought of it, a contestant cut her bananas into inch long slices and wrapped them in bacon and flash fried them. They looked amazing!

    Yes, I would eat bacon for dessert, definitely!

  13. Heather says:

    I’d give it a try…but I won’t promise that I’d like it…but who knows, it just might be good. My husband, a meatatartian, thinks it looks great! I remember a local radio anouncer talking a few years ago about how he loves chocolate wrapped in bacon deepfried…I thought that he was just joking…maybe not.

    I don’t have a bacon recipe that I’ve been waiting to try, but I do have a pototo chip cookie recipe just waiting to be tested.

  14. Jessica says:

    Animal, a newer restaurant in LA, has an amazing bacon chocolate bar for dessert. I have been thinking about it constantly for the entire two weeks since our meal there. I am all for bacon in desserts.

  15. Amy says:

    I dig the swine and although we’ve been talking about this combo of bacon and chocolate for what seems like forever in the TK, I still haven’t had a chance to try anything. Dana, I think this particular post needs recipe support… so you can give your readers (and staff) a chance to try for themselves!

  16. danamccauley says:

    Get right on that Amy – may I suggest you start with brownies?

  17. I’ve never even contemplated bacon in a desert but am willing to try anything!

  18. Aaron says:

    Bacon is in everything now.. it’s awesome! Chocolate covered bacon, bacon soda, bacon dental floss! Check out these other bacon inspired products and foods.. http://www.pavonefoodandbev.com/behold-the-power-of-bacon/

Leave a comment