Get ready for doughnut day: June 1

donutsI love any excuse to eat something delicious so I was very happy to discover that next Monday, June 1st will be doughnut day!

Although this calendar observance is an American tradition that dates back to World War One when Salvation Army volunteers cooked up doughnuts in foxholes to cheer American army troops, I’m embracing this sticky tradition in the name of Canada. After all, we have a long tradition of being not only excellent doughnut makers, but also voracious consumers of classic Tim Horton’s Donuts, Ottawa Beaver Tails and Canada’s Wonderland Funnel Cakes. In fact, according to Wikipedia, Canadians are the highest per capita doughnut consumers in the world. And, not surprisingly, we’re also the country with the most doughnut shops per capita, too.

Although this easy access to doughnuts is a comfort to me and many other Canadians, I have to say that the ultimate doughnut experience is not found in a doughnut shop but at home where you can fry up the dough, glaze the golden little ‘O’s a few minutes later and then gobble up the doughnuts while they’re still warm. In my opinion, that’s what it means to be a happy Canuck!

How often do you eat a doughnut? I eat them only once or twice a year but when I do, it’s always a happy day!

If you’d like to try your hand at making doughnuts in honour of Doughnut Day, here’s a recipe I developed for last year’s Bakefest Recipe Booklet. I hate to brag, but I think it’s one of the best classic doughnut recipes you’ll find!

Classic Glazed Donuts

Dough:
1 pkg (8 g) Fleishmann’s Traditional Yeast
1/4 cup (60 mL) warm water, about 115ºF (47ºC)
1 tsp (5 mL) Bee Hive Golden Corn Syrup
1/2 cup (125 mL) milk
1 Naturegg Omega 3 Shell Egg, beaten
1/4 cup (60 mL) Lactantia Unsalted Butter, melted
3 cups (750 mL) all-purpose flour (approx.)
1 tsp (5 mL) salt
1/4 cup (60mL) granulated sugar
6 cups (1.5 L) Mazola 100 % Pure Canola or Corn Oil

Glaze:
1/4 cup (60 mL) Bee Hive Golden Corn Syrup
1/4 cup (60 mL) warm water
1 1/3 cups (325 mL) icing sugar
1 tbsp (15 mL) Lactantia Unsalted Butter, melted
1 tsp (5 mL) vanilla

1. Dough: Blend the yeast with the warm water and syrup; let stand for 2 minutes. Whisk the milk with the egg and melted butter. Reserve. Meanwhile, place the flour, salt and sugar in a food processor. With the motor running, blend in the yeast and milk mixtures just until the dough begins to form a ball.

2. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 2 to 3 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Sprinkle with additional flour, if necessary, to prevent sticking. Cover and let rise for 1 1/2 hours. Punch down the dough; cover tightly and refrigerate overnight.

3. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface until 1/2–inch (1 cm) thick. Cut donut shapes using a 3 1/2-inch (8 cm) donut cutter (or a large and a small round cookie cutter). Re-roll the scraps once to make additional donuts (cut any remaining dough into donut holes). Cover donuts with a kitchen towel and let rise in a warm place for 30 minutes.

4. Glaze: Blend the corn syrup, water, butter, icing sugar and vanilla until smooth. Reserve.

5. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a wok or Dutch oven until it reaches at least 325ºF (160ºC) but doesn’t exceed 350ºF (180ºC). Gently lower 3 donuts at a time into the oil; fry for 3 to 4 minutes per side or until golden. Lift from hot oil and dip into glaze. Coat all over and transfer to a rack set over a baking tray to cool. Makes 8 donuts, plus donut holes.

25 Responses to Get ready for doughnut day: June 1

  1. There’s a Donut Day?!

    I can’t be trusted with an entire batch, so I will have to settle for one (Okay, two. They’re small.) freshly made donut from our Farmers’ Market. To accommodate this, I’m going to have to bump Donut Day up to Saturday when the market’s open, and forego the temptation on Monday. But don’t tell the donut police.

    How’s this for FRESH?
    http://christie-corner.blogspot.com/2009/05/healthy-snack-ideas.html

  2. Barb says:

    I’m a once a year or so donut eater, too. It’s not that I don’t like them; it’s the deep frying that puts me off. I did not know about Donut Day! I may have to celebrate that.

  3. cheryl says:

    I’d never made soft pretzels until about 2 months ago, and now I’m hooked. God help us all if I get hooked on donut-making, too.

  4. Barb says:

    Isn’t that the truth!

  5. Diva says:

    We made doughnuts with my mom once when I was a kid. I remember it being messy and fun! As an adult, I don’t typically eat doughnuts – maybe once or twice a year I’ll have a cider doughnut if we’re at the apple farm or a good farmers market which offers them – but that’s about it.

  6. […] be called a serendipitous turn of events, it has come to my attention that June 1st, besides being Doughnut Day, is also the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization’s World Milk […]

  7. thecatcancook says:

    Every couple month’s or so, I’ll get a couple blueberry cake donuts at Dunks. Other than that, not much of a donut person. I remember a third shift job and there was a donut shop opening at 6am and they had fresh donuts! Those were good right out of the oil!

  8. fruity says:

    I’m confused… The link that you gave above clearly mentions that Donut Day is celebrated on (quoting) “Always the first Friday in June”. This means that Donut Day is on Friday, June 5 THIS YEAR… and not on “Monday, June 1” as you stated above.

    Huh? LOL, should I eat a dozen donuts today on June 1 or this coming Friday? Hehe.

  9. danamccauley says:

    Well, I certainly won’t limit your donut eating. I have another source (that didn’t reference the story) that says donut day is today. Perhaps we’ll just have to call it donut week?

    All in favour: raise your hands.

  10. Kevin says:

    It has been way too long since I last had a doughnut and I missed out on the perfect excuse to have one, doughnut day!

  11. danamccauley says:

    There’s always a ready excuse for donuts Kevin – don’t be sad!

  12. fruity says:

    Donut Week? YAY. Definitely in favour of that. 🙂

  13. kev says:

    I don’t know, I think Wikipedia’s sources are a little sketchy on that per-capita doughnut consumption thing… A little bit of 15-year-old CBC hyperbole and a Boston lifestyle columnist!

    But don’t worry, I still like doughnuts 🙂

  14. Thanks much for blog post. It’s very imformative stuff.
    I really like to read danamccauley.wordpress.com.

  15. I’m just loving this World Cup, slow to start but exciting now. Who do you think will win?

  16. Web Hostings Reviews…

    […]Get ready for doughnut day: June 1 « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  17. […] Last link: recipe and background from Dana McCauley […]

  18. […] Last link: recipe and background from Dana McCauley […]

  19. […] Last link: recipe and background from Dana McCauley […]

  20. […] Last link: recipe and background from Dana McCauley […]

  21. It is not everyone’s business to write such a great post, one person in a million can write such a beautiful post and you are one of those millions. I hope that you will write more beautiful posts in life and also hope that you will keep climbing the ladder of achievement in your life, very few people do this but I have full hope from you.

  22. […] Last link: recipe and background from Dana McCauley […]

Leave a comment