Butterscotch pudding

butterscothpudding.jpgWhen I was growing up I loved homemade butterscotch pudding. In fact, I vowed that as soon as I was an adult I would make an entire pot of butterscotch pudding and eat it all by myself. I still find that idea wonderfully appealing; however, as I mentioned on television recently, I’m also trying to stay slim and trim (BTW: I’ve lost four of the six pounds I talked about losing that day!).

When I originally envisioned eating an entire batch of butterscotch pudding, it was a big batch. A really big batch. Enough for eight, in fact. While I know that my adult metabolism can definitely not handle that kind of indulgence, I do still love creamy, rich homemade butterscotch pudding. There’s just no substitute for scratch butterscotch pudding. The single-serve commercially prepared butterscotch puddings available in grocery stores don’t even taste like butterscotch. No, once you go homemade, there’s no turning back when it comes to butterscotch pudding!

To satisfy my cravings and maintain portion control, I developed this smaller batch, microwave version of my favorite childhood dessert. Although it makes enough to share with a friend, you could eat the entire batch. You’d be blowing your diet for the day but you won’t have to lie down to recover!

What’s your favorite childhood food? Are sweets more “cravable” than savoury foods for you?

Dana’s Microwave Butterscotch Pudding
4 tsp (20 mL) cornstarch
½ cup (125 mL) lightly packed dark brown sugar
pinch salt
1 cup (250 mL) 2 % milk
2 egg yolks, beaten
2 tbsp (30 mL) cold, salted butter, cubed
¼ tsp (1 mL) pure vanilla extract

Blend the cornstarch with the sugar and salt until well combined in a microwave safe bowl or large glass-measuring cup. Whisk in about 1/4 of the milk until smooth. Blend in remaining milk, whisking until smooth.

Cook mixture in the microwave on HIGH for 1 minute. Whisk well and cook for 2 minutes longer or until thickened. Spoon a little of the hot milk mixture into the eggs. Stir until smooth. Scrape the egg mixture into the hot milk mixture using a rubber spatula. Whisk well and cook for 1 minute longer on HIGH. Whisk in the butter and vanilla until smooth. Cool to room temperature. Makes 2 servings.

12 Responses to Butterscotch pudding

  1. dinnerwithjulie says:

    WOW, does that sound amazing! You really do have your finger on the pulse of food trends.. I was just reading about butterscotch pudding at Orangette (a blogspot blog). I may have to make some.

    Oh hey, those 4 pounds you lost? I found them for you.

    Julie

  2. danamccauley says:

    Hmm.. I’ll have to run over and check out Orangette – thanks for the tip!

  3. […] about the younger whisky, I loved the 25-year old because it resonated with me as a chef and a lover of butterscotch. After just a sniff and a couple of sips of this scotch, I understood where the word […]

  4. danamccauley says:

    Hey, here’s another great butterscotch pudding recipe.

    This one is long form so make it when you feel like puttering in the kitchen:

    http://www.culinaryconcoctionsbypeabody.com/2008/05/16/ya-know/

  5. Beth says:

    I love butterscotch pudding – especially when it’s in a pie shell and topped with meringue!

  6. […] paired my not so pretty tuiles with my semi-famous microwave butterscotch pudding (made with homo milk instead of the 2% called for in the original recipe and with demerrara sugar […]

  7. […] my blog, you could get the impression that all I ever make are butter tarts, banana bread and butterscotch pudding (otherwise known around my house as the sugary trinity of B). And, truth be told, I do fall into […]

  8. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by DanaMcCauley: @Foodimentary I make a wicked microwave butterscoth pudding:https://danamccauley.wordpress.com/2008/01/24/butterscotch-pudding/ Enjoy!…

  9. […] the list today are recipes from my sweet kitchen: • Microwave butterscotch pudding • Tarte Tatin • Super crisp ginger cookies • Butter […]

  10. How to Grow Giant Pumpkins…

    […]Butterscotch pudding « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  11. Nederlandse banken…

    […]Butterscotch pudding « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  12. Rana says:

    THIS was so good and totally hit the spot! Do you have or know of an equally good chocolate pudding recipe for one (or two) servings prepared in the microwave?

Leave a comment