Good clean fun: a contest

divadishgloves

I know I told you recently that domestic work doesn’t make me feel very chic; however, when I saw these fabulous Divalicious dish gloves, my heart skipped a beat!

They are made of super thick, durable rubber and have wonderful faux fur leopard trim – what better way to make doing the dishes a little more exciting?

This pair is for one of you! That’s right; all you need to do is leave a comment before Friday at Midnight EST below this post describing the last truly sublime thing you ate or drank. Value of the prize is $30.

After the contest closes, I will cut a printed version of the comments into individual strips of paper and place them in a pudding bowl, mix them up well and draw a lucky winner to be announced on Monday, February 9th. The winner will receive his or her prize in the mail shortly after that announcement.

International readers are encouraged to enter since it might be the only way you can get a pair of these fabulous, made-in-Vancouver gloves! (Yes, we Canadians do know how to entertain ourselves during our long winters!)

34 Responses to Good clean fun: a contest

  1. George Yan says:

    Hmmm….that would probably be the miso soup last week based on some imported Japanese miso paste I found at St. Lawrence Market. Made simply with miso, water, tofu, spinach, scallions and a touch of soya. Light, healthy and satisfying.

  2. Beth says:

    Mmmm…the last really great thing I ate was the foie gras pate on the Pangaea Winterlicious menu And no, I’m not sucking up to you Dana – I do know it’s your husband’s restaurant. That said, if you want to give my ballot special attention, I would love to have these gloves!

  3. The last truly sublimely good thing I ate? It was a curried chicken pot pie. I normally don’t go for this kind of thing, but it was made with curry paste and coconut milk and was an amazing combination of exotic and familiar.

    By the way, I covet those gloves. I never wear dish gloves, although my hands are dry as sand paper. These might induce me to take better care of my skin.

  4. Andrea says:

    Other than infrequent little samplings at food events and on vacations abroad when it’s something I can’t get at home, I haven’t eaten meat in over a year. However, last week I had the opportunity to eat a chunk of brisket from Jamie Kennedy. Sublime, yes. The layer of fat, the perfectly done meat, tender and flaky. If all meat tasted like that and was ethically sourced I might be an omnivore.

  5. megan says:

    Wild Boar Ravioli with Wild Mushrooms, Grappe Soaked Raisins and Chives. It was amazing.
    Love the giveaway!

  6. Amy G says:

    I warmed the unsuccessful cupcakes from last weeks testing and topped them with a very liberal dollop of whipped cream. The way the chocolate chips melted throughout my dense little cuppie created an ewey gooey mini molten lava chocolate cake. Sweet perfection! I also just had a truly sublime Red Hot the other day…my guilty pleasure 😉

  7. Rosa says:

    What classy gloves! I never wear gloves, although I should…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  8. Luke says:

    The Monte Cristo at The Northside in Cobourg (http://thenorthside.ca/). It’s like a hot brunch to the face.

  9. Erica B. says:

    Dauphin brie from Janice Beaton’s with fig preserves and Sobey’s take and bake cranberry baguette.

  10. Shari says:

    Just this week I made Floating Islands drizzled with caramel for the first time and tasted them for the first time too. OMG. A little “ahh” escaped from my lips after one bite.

    Those gloves are too funny!

  11. Diva says:

    My word, those gloves *are* Divalicious! Love ’em.

    I’ll deviate a bit and offer one of each … the last truly sublime thing I drank was a Bloody Bull (or 3!) that my husband made me on Sunday afternoon. Honestly, his version of this classic is so good it nearly makes me weep for joy.

    Foodwise, I’ll go with my appetizer last night. We dined at one of my favorite Italian joints prior to the hockey game and they’re famous for their grilled homemade sausage. The plate contains an assortment of five succulent, grill-smokey links that are savory, rich and surprisingly light all at the same time. Heavenly!

  12. Zeb R. says:

    Clams in a white sauce over pumpkin pasta was by far the best.

  13. Cheryl A says:

    Ate? my first fresh passion fruit. Pulpy, drippy, and phenomenally sweet.
    Drank? Gordon and MacPhail cask strength Scotch from the 1973 Longmorn Distillery.

  14. eroica says:

    Raclette!

  15. Jaclyn says:

    Hi Dana!
    Those gloves are interesting! Anything to make you feel good while cleaning! Though, I probably wouldn’t use them for cleaning since I’d be afraid to get them dirty! LOL!!!

    The last truly sublime food I ate is a chicken pot pie from Costco! My aunt kept saying how good it was, so I tried it during Christmas, and it is really good! Now we have it every week!

  16. Steve says:

    Sublime? Does that mean subliminal? If so, then I ate a chocolate smoothie with fruit….should I interpret something from that? …..the fruit was ripe too.
    ss

  17. Steve says:

    oh….I know – sublime…..well, I prefer lemons and oranges

  18. Barb says:

    Last truly sublime thing? JVR’s Rosemary Raisin Pecan Crisps. To die for. Where can all but the lucky winner buy these gloves?

  19. danamccauley says:

    Hey Barb,

    I bought this pair at William Ashley’s on Bloor Street in Toronto. You can also get them from this website:

    http://www.fancypantzdesigns.com/category_6/Diva-Dish-Gloves-.htm

  20. Betty says:

    Love the Gloves….stylish cleaning.
    I was in Las Vegas for a trade show and went to Ceasar’s BOA Steak Restaurant and had the Kobe beef filet – yummy!

  21. dinnerwithjulie says:

    Oooh, free stuff! I love being on the receiving end of it!

    I just finished taping our cheese episode, so I’d have to say the last sublime thing I ate was a nice brie with digestive biscuits – love that combo! Before that, a perfect fettuccine Alfredo made with bacon and chicken, lots of butter and cream and Parmesan… mmmmm…

  22. Danielle says:

    I was in the deep south last October and I ate turtle soup. I never knew such a thing existed and although tentative, I dove right in and was completely surprised. It was quite good. Don’t know if it would be a regular order, but it made for an interesting experience and story.

  23. Jamie says:

    Those gloves are fabulous!

    This evening, I had gnocchi made from scratch. They were like little pillows of heaven!

  24. Danielle Rouleau says:

    Daily ritual – Nutella…right out of the container…on a spoon. Nothing is more sublime. Truly. And if you believe the marketing – it’s nutritious.

  25. Natashya says:

    I love them! They are so cool!
    Sublime? Would have to be garlicky, lemony linguini with mussels and fresh parsley – don’t forget the baguette and wine!

  26. Holly says:

    Hi Dana,
    my husband and I attended a wine pairing event at Castello di Amorosa and ate traditional roasted porchetta paired with Sangiovese. Mmmmmm so good!
    Hope to win the gloves.

  27. Barb Vigeant says:

    Hi, I always wear gloves. I’d love those. They look truly glamorous….
    The last fabulous thing I ate was crab claws that my neighbor caught 1/2 hr ago and cooked. The only thing I needed to do was eat… Yam, Yam
    Barbro in Florida

  28. Mabel Tanner says:

    I recently had a wonderful lobster sandwich I made with leftovers from boiled lobster of the night before. Truly delicious!

    My guilty pleasure is Zero bars…the dark chocolate…mmmmmm!

  29. RMB says:

    Drink – Lemon Drop Martini – tart & delicious

    Pomegranate & Feta Salad from Best of Bridge – the combo of pomegranate and feta with the maple syrup in the dressing – sublime !

  30. I made some gravlax last weekend that turned out a bit too salty. Solution? I wrapped each paper thin slice around a dollop of Lemon-Caper Cream Cheese (with dill) and served on a slice of homemade Red River Pumpernickel Bread. A bit of lemon zest on top and OMG what a hit!!! Another stray appetizer rescued 😉

  31. danamccauley says:

    Red river pumpernickel bread?!? Invite me over. Seriously. That’s worth travel.

  32. mindy says:

    that would be shrimp scampi thanks for the giveaway

  33. […] Let’s have a drum roll for Barb, winner of the Diva Dish Glove contest! […]

  34. […] last contest proved to be so much fun that I’ve decided to hold […]

Leave a comment