Taco tsunami

Shrimp tacoTacos. They aren’t just filled with chili powder spiced ground beef anymore. Recent trends have seen fish tacos win fans from coast-to-coast and so-called Korean Tacos trucks are cruising the streets in big US cities like LA, New York and Seattle. Likewise, meatless tacos and tacos that feature slices of meatloaf as the star filling have recently been featured in national magazines.

At our house, tacos are a regular menu item. We’re soft taco lovers and I’ve been known to fill our shells with pulled pork, vegetarian chili, seared hoisin glazed duck and even stir-fry.

What happens at your house? Are you a taco kit household or an anything-goes-in-a-tortilla household like ours?

11 Responses to Taco tsunami

  1. Rosa says:

    That looks so good! I love tacos the old or new way!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Embarrassingly, I can’t remember the last time I made tacos. It’s been at least 10 years.

    I’ll clearly have to correct this oversight. No kits for me. I’ll haul out my dog-eared copy of The Moosewood cookbook and see how they handle this.

  3. Sabrina says:

    I love, love, love tacos and with just about anything in them; though I think the traditional stuff if my favourite. At my place we often to the taco salad thing to cut back on carbs.

  4. Sharon Haslam says:

    Yup, tacos are a go here too! We do soft and hard to please everyone at the table. We don’t go too crazy on the spice nor the salsa.
    For a quick dinner kids team them up with grated cheddar, shredded lettuce, black olives, sour cream, guacamole, diced tomatoes, hummus, etc. Ground beef is number 1, flank steak sliced is popular, ground turkey and shredded chicken too–I’ll have to try the veggie chilie idea it sounds delish!
    We do soft tacos with eggs, veggies and cheese for breakfast–long before McD’s put it on their menus!!

  5. Jamie says:

    I make tacos often, so often, in fact that my tortilla press finally gave out. I was very happy that La Tortilleria popped up in several locations in Toronto where one can buy tall stacks of soft corn tortillas for pennies. Other than there, if you’re going to buy them, finding 100% corn tortillas is not easy. Even many lower end restaurants serve the loblaws style “tortillas” (made from wheat).

    • danamccauley says:

      Now I”m humbled – you have a tortilla press? I just buy the ready made tortillass at the store. To be honest, we can’t easily get corn tortillas here in my part of Toronto so we eat mostly wheat flour tortillas at our house. Do you make corn or wheat four tortillas, Jamie?

  6. Hélène says:

    I love tacos especially fish tacos. I love to make different one, anything goes in a tortilla.

  7. Cheryl says:

    Your shrimp tacos look great. My favorite are fish tacos with corn tortillas, avocado, cilantro and lime. I find the fish kind of a pain to cook, so we’ll often just toss any leftover meat from the fridge in as a substitute, or even just some mashed beans with all the fixings.

    Mmmm, tacos.

  8. Barb says:

    I love tacos, too. I usually have beef or chicken but am not opposed to any kind! I must say I don’t have them too often. I should have them more.

  9. Taco night was all about the kit when we were growing up. I haven’t introduced them to the girls yet (they are still in the phase of taking apart any composed item you give them), but soon.
    You’ve given me memories of our trip to Baja. I made fish tacos for breakfast many mornings. My family thought I was odd, but I was in heaven – fish we caught, organic avocados, tomatoes, lettuce, and some mayo thinned out with lime juice. All of fresh corn tortillas. Sigh, now I need a taco.

Leave a comment