Dana’s one bowl banana bread recipe

banana-bread-final-recipe4I was going to do a final test on my new banana bread recipe last night. Unfortunately I couldn’t follow through with my plans since my skanky bananas were missing when I got home! Vanished. Gone. In other words: not where I left them!

At first I ran around locking all the doors and windows – obviously we’d been robbed and a crucial point of vulnerability needed to be sealed. But, as it turns out, the bananas were not, in fact, stolen. My husband had thrown them in the freezer so that I’d have them when I wanted to make banana bread! Too funny!

Anyhow, I thawed my skanky, black-skinned bananas in the refrigerator today and made a loaf of banana bread using the recipe below. I hope you’ll try it and let me know whether it meets your high standards(I’m looking directly at you Adrian!). Around here it’s garnering satisfied ooh’s and ahh’s!

One Bowl Banana Bread

2/3 cup (150 mL) softened butter

½ cup (125 mL) lightly packed brown sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup (250 mL) mashed, very ripe banana, about 3

1 tsp (5 mL) pure vanilla extract

2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose flour

1 tbsp (15 mL) baking powder

½ tsp (2 mL) each baking soda and salt

1 cup (250 mL) chopped pecans, walnuts or chocolate chunks (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 °F (180 °C). Place the butter in a large bowl and beat with a wooden spoon until light and fluffy (feel free to use an electric mixer if you prefer). Blend in the brown sugar and beat until light. Beat in the eggs, adding one at at time. Blend in the banana and vanilla until well incorporated.

Add the flour. Sprinkle the baking powder, baking soda and salt over the flour. Stir these smaller amounts of dry ingredients into the flour. Using deeper strokes, blend the dry ingredients into the butter mixture until almost fully combined. If adding nuts or chocolate, fold them in.

Scrape the batter into a lightly greased 9 x 5 –inch (2.5 L) glass loaf pan and smooth evenly to fill to the edges of the pan. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes on the centre rack of the oven until the loaf springs back when lightly touched on top. Cool in the pan on a rack for 10 minutes. Turn loaf out and cool completely before slicing. Makes 10 servings.

Tip: I made a loaf using ½ cup (125 mL) butter that was fine when fresh but it dried out by day 2. So, if you are going to make and consume this bread on the same day, feel free to lessen the butter. Otherwise, stick with 2/3 cup (150) ; it’s more awkward to measure but necessary to prevent staling.

27 Responses to Dana’s one bowl banana bread recipe

  1. Rosa says:

    Scrumptious! I love to spread butter over my banana bread slices…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Cheryl says:

    Funny, I’m going to make banana bread today, too. I’ve moved the skanky bananas from the fruit bowl to the middle of the kitchen counter so I don’t put it off again. In one more day they’ll dissolve into goo and then it’ll really be too late.

    Love, love, love banana bread. Your recipe looks really good. I make mine with yogurt, almond meal, and whole wheat flour, but given how much I eat in a sitting it’s not like it’s health food.

  3. danamccauley says:

    CHeryl: your recipe sounds much more interesting than mine. I went old school and we all still sem to eat quite a bit of it at at time. Perhaps you’ll post your recipe sometime so I can try it?

    Rosa: I, too, have been known to dip into the butter dish when eating muffins and loaves that, like this one, already contain lots of fat – I’m not always a good girl!

  4. I love that your husband had your back. My well-intentioned spouse would have taken one look at a bunch of skanky bananas and tossed them. He once threw out my brand new batch of dried kaffir lime leaves because they were “shriveled”.

  5. adrian says:

    Thanks Dana – I’ll give it a go at the weekend, if I can find some skanky bananas!

  6. Dana says:

    the skankier, the better!

  7. Cheryl says:

    Here’s my recipe, Dana, with a new photo of today’s banana bread! (I actually posted this recipe many months ago, and it was time for an updated photo anyway, so your timing’s perfect.)

    http://5secondrule.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/05/a-9-letter-exce.html

  8. I love one bowl items…you know what they say, why use two bowls when you only have to use one!

    I love this!

    -DTW
    http://www.everydaycookin.blogspot.com

  9. danamccauley says:

    Thanks Cheryl! After looking at your post, I have picture shame – nice work! Looks great. I’ll try it soon.

  10. Kevin says:

    Nice banana bread! Banana bread is one of my favorites.

  11. Julia says:

    Nice recipie !

    Thanks for the sharing !

    i was searching for banana bread and i found it here !

  12. adrian says:

    No banana bread for me this weekend – I had all the fixins on the counter, ready to go, but my bananas weren’t skanky enough. But as soon as they turn fluid, it’s go time. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  13. danamccauley says:

    Ooh – keep us posted on how skanky your bananas are Adrian.

    Actually, you could do a blog just about that very topic with daily updates on your bananas and recipes for banana bread variations inbetween….can you tell that I’m procrastinating?

  14. adrian says:

    Excellent idea – SkankyBananas.com. I’ll have a live webcam showing the banana’s getting skankier in real time. I should call that “What White People like” dude and ask him how he got his book deal…

  15. danamccauley says:

    I think you may have found your calling Adrian!

  16. […] hadn’t really measured when I made the loaf). So, I headed into the kitchen and came up with this recipe. Then banana bread lover and perfectionisto Adrian sent me a list of questions about the recipe. […]

  17. linusrox says:

    Haven’t tried it yet, but thanks! I only like bananas when they are spotty (as do monkeys, allegedly – they must know something about what is ripe and digestible). But I also buy extra because I keep lots on hand in the freezer to use them to make “ice cream”. I like the slightly granular texture when you pour milk over fingered and frozen pieces, return to freezer for 5-10 minutes, add a bit of Splenda then whip with blending stick. Thicker than a smoothie.

    Throwing them out is even more of a waste when you remember how valuable the peels are. They are one of the best adds to a compost bin.

  18. danamccauley says:

    Linus-baby, that ice cream idea of yours sounds far too healthy for me to bear. I, too, like a spotty banana but when the spots are yellow, then the bananas are perfect for banana bread!

  19. […] my blog, you could get the impression that all I ever make are butter tarts, banana bread and butterscotch pudding (otherwise known around my house as the sugary trinity of B). And, truth […]

  20. Hélène says:

    I have about 20 rippen bananas on the counter. I should try this recipe. Looks great.

  21. danamccauley says:

    Hope you do! I made it last night and it was a hit!

  22. Doersam says:

    Fantastic post, very much useful information. I found your blog a few days ago on Google and have been reading it over the past few days. I am goint to subscribe your blog. Btw, here is where you can download nhac mp3 for free

  23. Poisson says:

    I signed up for your rss feed, but it doesn’t seem to be working. Please let me know how I can get your updates. Free Credit Report for 2010

  24. Kamikaze Drink…

    […]Dana’s one bowl banana bread recipe « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  25. best 3d bluray movies…

    […]Dana’s one bowl banana bread recipe « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  26. รายได้เสริมทางเน็ต…

    […]Dana’s one bowl banana bread recipe « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  27. windows 7 boot screen…

    […]Dana’s one bowl banana bread recipe « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

Leave a comment