Creamy sesame salad dressing

April 1, 2009

creamysesame1

Although you can’t tell just from reading my blog, things are different today. You see, I’m not really here at all. In fact, I’m in Denver at the IACP Conference. Although I’ve prewritten today’s, tomorrow’s and Friday’s posts so that you won’t miss me too much, you can also keep up with my conference experience in real time by following me on Twitter.

In the meantime, here’s a recipe for one of my favourite salad dressings. Enjoy!

Creamy Japanese Dressing
2 egg yolks
4 tsp (20 mL) rice vinegar
1 tsp (5 mL) granulated sugar
1 tsp (5 mL) each soy sauce and minced shallot or onion
1/2 tsp (2 mL) each, salt and white pepper
2 tbsp (30 mL) toasted sesame oil
1/4 cup (50 mL) vegetable oil

In a blender, whip the egg yolks, vinegar, sugar, soy sauce, shallot, and salt and pepper until thick. Combine the sesame and vegetable oils. With the motor running, add half the oil drop-by-drop, until mixture is very thick. Still running, slowly drizzle in remaining oil; Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary. (Dressing can be made and reserved in refrigerator for up to 24 hours.)

Ideal as a dressing for a salad made from iceberg lettuce, shredded carrot, shredded red cabbage and chopped tomatoes.