Not roasted garlic

April 2, 2009

roastedgarlicI would run away and join the circus but apparently their quota for doughy limbed, middle-aged ladies is full. If only I hadn’t invested in electrolysis I might have had a chance at the bearded lady job. Instead, I’ll have to live out the rest of the recession doing two things:
1. Waiting for the phone to ring
2. Cooking.

I took the picture above at Murray’s Cheese on Bleeker Street in New York City a few weeks ago. I loved its photogenic beauty and really felt compelled to buy some. But, truth be told, I’m really not such a fan of roasted garlic. In fact, I find that braising garlic is a far better way to develop a mellow flavour and yielding cloves that spread like softened butter. I learned this technique for cooking garlic from my husband Martin Kouprie almost 20 years ago and I have to say that it’s still the best way to “roast” garlic that I’ve found.

Martin’s “Roasted” Garlic

20 cloves peeled garlic
1 tbsp (15 mL) vegetable oil
1 cup (250 mL) water
¼ tsp (1 mL) each salt and pepper

Heat oil in skillet set over medium heat; add garlic and toss to coat. Cook, stirring and tossing often, for 5 to 7 minutes or until golden brown on both sides but not scorched.

Add water and bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer for 12 to 15 minutes or until water is evaporated and garlic is very tender; stir in salt and pepper.

Spread garlic cloves and juices onto plate and cool completely. Place in clean, dry container; seal tightly and refrigerate until needed.