Local leaps forward

April 27, 2009

granolabars

The locavore movement has been on my trend tracker’s radar for quite some time but never during my research have I found anything as inspiring as the story of the Go Ontario! Granola Bars.

Every ingredient in these additive-, preservative- and trans fat-free bars is sourced from an Ontario farm and the bars are, in turn, sold to Ontario schools to use for fundraising snack programs.

I just love this idea and hope it’s the beginning of a trend that sees more companies returning to regional food production. It’s a great way to reduce the carbon footprint of packaged foods and a wonderful way to support local producers.

Although these bars won’t be available at retail for a little while longer, I can tell you that I’ll be trying them as soon as they are on the shelf.

Other than produce and ingredients like honey and maple syrup, are products that use all local ingredients available in your area?