Halloween treats

October 24, 2008

Many of you will be buying costumes, candy and decorations this weekend for Halloween. I love trick-or-treating –- it’s so fun to see all the houses decorated and to have kids come to the door in costume. That said, while I love a yearly binge on little chocolate bars and mini bags of chips, every year my son’s bag of loot always contains far more than anyone in our household needs or even wants to eat. In fact, usually sometime around December 1st, I throw away half a bag of stale treats that are still hanging around the house. What a waste!

I’m guessing we aren’t the only family who finds Halloween treats too much of a good thing so I urge you to pick up non-edible treats this year. Looking for ideas?

Make a trip to the dollar store for:
• Pencils
• Stickers
• Card games
• Self inking stamps
• Erasers
• Beads and string
• Crazy straws

Or go to the garden centre and buy:
• Seed packets for growing flowers in pots
• Tree seedlings (fall is the perfect time to plant!)

From the grocery store:

• Packets of raisins or Craisins 100 calorie packs

Single-serve fruit cups

• Cheese strings

• Juice boxes